Posted by: Ingrid | October 26, 2009

Happy Autumn!

I love autumn.  Part of the reason is the seasonal baking and cooking that accompanies this time of year.  As a fan of all things pumpkin (pumpkin pasta with sausage which was almost as good as the pumpkin ravioli I made last year, pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, those little pumpkin shaped candies that have nothing to do with pumpkin and everything to do with an instant sugar rush…) autumn gives me an excuse to do lots of fun cooking and baking that I love.  In Michigan it’s even easier, since baking also warms the house a bit, whereas in southern California I’d have to turn on the AC and put on shorts first if I wanted to bake anything in October.

So anyway, before I digress too far, I love autumn baking!  Last week I finally got around to my annual autumn tradition of making Maple cookies.  Maple… another flavor I love.  I love it so much in fact, that I’ve been known to scalp maple glazed donuts just for the frosting, leaving the rest behind because really, what’s the point of fried dough?

But I was talking about maple cookies.  I found the recipe in a Better Homes and Garden Christmas cookbook many moons ago, before I went off to college, I think (and as I turn 30 in just over a month that really does feel like a long time ago).  The recipe was for Maple Yule Logs, but when my mom found me some maple shaped cookie cutters at Williams and Sonoma, the maple shaped maple cookie tradition was born.  Every autumn I would bake and package lots of the cookies and give them to just about everyone.  That was way back in the day when I had no husband and no baby and lived close to everyone I gave cookies to, however.  So this year, all of three people got cookies, and I’m okay with that.  However, here is the recipe if you’d like to bake your own!

In a large mixer bowl beat 3/4 cups butter until soft.  Add 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1 egg, 1-1/2 tsp maple flavoring and 1/2 tsp salt.  Add 2 cups flour.  Beat until well mixed.  Refrigerate for at least an hour.  Try not to eat the raw dough but know you’re in good company if you do.

Preheat oven to 375.  Cut out cookies and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake cookies 6-8 minutes.

IMG_5092

For frosting, beat 1/4 cup butter until light and fluffy.  Add 3 cups of powdered sugar,2-3 tbsp milk, and 1 tsp maple flavoring and beat until smooth.  Frost cookies when cool.

Note: the frosting is about double what you need but the extra tastes very good on graham crackers.  Believe me, after 12 years of this, I should know!

IMG_5100

Happy Autumn, from my house to yours!

IMG_5103

Responses

  1. Oh my! Those look quite delicious. Next time I’m in the States, I’ll have to grab some maple flavoring. There is nothing like crisp, fall weather to make you feel like going inside and baking something comforting. If you are looking for a pumpkin recipe, you should try these pumpkin cupcakes: http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/11/pumpkin-cupcakes/ I just made them for a friend’s wedding, and everyone (including me) thought they were divine. I was back in California for the wedding where it was hot, and I was terrified the entire time that the frosting would melt. Thank goodness for air-conditioning! Happy baking!

    • Thanks Diana! They look delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

