Posted by: Ingrid | November 26, 2009

Thanksgiving Resolution

Well, today marks precisely one year since we got the positive lines on a pregnancy test and learned that our lives were about to change in a very big way.

I remember calling the Kaiser advice nurse because suddenly I was pregnant and was signed up for a 10K the next day and didn’t know what to do.  She told me it was too bad I couldn’t run it now but it would be worth it in the end.  I hung up and promptly ignored her advice because that’s what I tend to do with advice I don’t like.  Ignore it and it goes away!  Just like that!  It’s a great system.

A year later and I would have to say that we definitely have our hands full!  What did I do to celebrate today?  Baked three pies of course.  What else would the mother of a teething three-and-a-half month old do?

Which brings me to my Thanksgiving Resolution that I need to remember for next year.  When offering to bring something for Thanksgiving, I resolve to immediately punt to the green bean casserole.  I don’t care if the closest I’ve ever come to making it is snacking on the fried onions. It has to be better than offering to bring all the pies and realizing in the middle of the conversation that you’re saying things like, “And do you mind if I bring a caramel apple pie that I make…” and knowing that with those words you can’t even run to the store and cheat if you need to.

So I hearby resolve that elaborate homeade pies can wait until I have no small children in diapers hitting big developmental milestones.

Responses

  1. I have two in diapers, one potty-training and just made pumpkin pies and pecan-crumb-crusted apple pies and I say HA! try and keep that resolution!

    😀

    Pies are just more fun than green beans, is all.

  2. I’m with you! I have a 6 week old and made two pies one handed because of my big mouth. It took 2 days. Then – since we were celebrating outdoors and it suddenly turned cold, everyone left before dessert… And 2 untouched homemade pies came home with us.

    Wait…that’s doesn’t sound so bad after all.

    Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

Categories

