Posted by: Ingrid | November 30, 2009

Turning Thirty: Where did the last decade go?

Tomorrow I turn thirty.

I can’t say that I mind, even though I still remember when the thought of turning sixteen and getting my driver’s license seemed ages away.  Here I am, on the verge of a new decade, and I have to admit that I’m excited. The general trend of life has gotten progressively better and better since I passed twenty-four, which has me entering my thirties with unprecedented optimism.  It’s kind of nice.

The weird thing about this birthday is the timing.  I was thinking on my run this morning (last 10 miles as a twenty-nine year old!) that I’ve always thought of thirty as a settled age.  If we were in California I would want to do something with a few friends, maybe dress up and go somewhere classy for dinner.  Instead, I almost feel like the last decade has brought me full circle.  The autumn I turned twenty I’d just transferred into a new university and hardly knew anyone.  It was that awkward getting to know new people stage that leaves you unsure how to celebrate your birthday.  Now I’m back in the same place, though without the awkward crushes, dorm life, and homework.  New place, new people, and none of that settled life that I envisioned.

I’d say that we will not be moving anywhere when I turn forty, but if I say that, we probably will.

I’m continually amazed at all the changes and growing that occurred in the last decade of life.  Not surprising, I guess, when you throw in college and friendships, losing a parent, marriage, and a baby.  The years have been full of good things as well as some very painful times.  I guess you could say that my twenties have been the most alive years of my life.  All that aside, I don’t think I’m going to miss them.

A few weeks ago, as I was sorting through papers in the office that refuses to be cleaned up or unpacked, I discovered a letter from myself at twenty to myself at thirty.  I think I must have been re-reading something by Lucy Maude Montgomery at the time I wrote it.  Get this, I even sent it to myself in the mail so it was post-marked.  I’m kind of curious to find out what I have to say to myself, even if that was sort of silly.

Yeah, I think I can get used to the idea of thirty, except for the fact that it’s halfway to sixty.  Now that’s a little weird!

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday for today!! I turned 30 almost 4 years ago (eek!). I think we definitely have more clarity . . but isn’t that the case at any decade? 🙂 I wish we could see more wisdom sooner!! 🙂 Have a great day and how fun that you have your little man to share it with!

  2. Happy Birthday! Turning 30 was one of the BEST turning points in my life and I LOVED my thirties. I was sad to say goodbye to them this past March! Sounds like you have an excellent start to them and I just had my first baby at 40!

    Have a beautiful day!

  3. Hey sixty is not bad! My Jim turns 60 in February! It’s better all the time … I think maybe things go down hill after 70 or 80?

  4. Happy Birthday! The “big” birthdays, like 30, 40 and (I’m guessing) 50 don’t have much of an impact, because you see them coming. The one that caught me off guard was 36; I could legally date someone half my age – and she’d be in college.


Leave a Reply

Categories

