Posted by: Ingrid | December 8, 2009

I don’t think it means what you think it means

So after several days of little snow flurries flying through the cold grey air, the heavens opened today and it has been snowing here for the past few hours.  It’s sticking to the grass and piling up on cars and really looks lovely slanting sideways towards the ground.  I have to admit that it’s relieving to see snow.  That may sound sort of funny, since that means that it’s very cold (I can literally walk inside and say, Brrrrr… it’s freezing outside! and have that be true, which is gratifying on some level) and slightly inconvenient.

The relief comes from the fact that I’ve lived down in southern California for the last 10 years and all those fires that you heard about in the news that made you think LA was about to burn up?  Those were all close by.  So when I’ve been out running, freezing my face off (contrary to the popular phrase, “I’m freezing my butt off.” the face actually freezes before your hind-quarters get anywhere close), and watching snow flurries fly past my face, all I could associate it with were people’s houses burning down and ash falling from the sky.  A good snow fall removes all doubt and I can confidently stop sniffing the air for hints of smoke.

How weird to think that we live in a place where Disneyland doesn’t provide the snow and snow flakes are probably never confused with ashes.

I think it might be winter, folks!

Responses

  1. The good news is that it’s actually WARMER when it snows – it’s when it’s too cold to snow that you have to be concerned! =)

  2. That was my first thought this morning, too, when I saw the first flakes falling — “Hurrah! NOT ASH!” 😉 Gotta love LA.

  3. I remember being so confused the first time I felt ash falling from the sky. It was just a few months after I had moved to L.A., and it took me second to realize what it was. I just kept thinking, “It’s way too hot outside for snow.”
    Hope the snow was falling softly around you and not stinging you in the eyes.

  4. You are such a clever writer. I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

