Posted by: Ingrid | December 14, 2009

A good week

Last week made me happy.

Now, I am the first to acknowledge that the classical definition of happiness is not circumstantial.  That aside, this week has just been full of things that made me smile.  First, the cold and wind and snow that I thought would completely derail me didn’t end up thwarting my plans for a 30 mile week.  I feel like I triumphed over the first week of real winter weather.  Now all I have to do is get through the next 45 or so weeks and everything will be fine.

This was also a week of culture, including the concert at the annual SAU Hanging of the Greens (I grew up in choir so I’m all about obscure Christmas carols in as many parts as you can find them), a drive to Lansing to see the Broadway version of White Christmas, and watching The Nutracker, which several of our high school kids were dancing in.

I grew up watching The Nutcracker and even got to dance in it one year.  My favorite moment from the evening was when I realized that Husband had never seen a ballet in his life and didn’t realize that there was no talking involved.  The look on his face was priceless!

The youth group also had their First Annual Cheesy Turtleneck party which has nothing to do with culture but was still a lot of fun.

I can’t believe that my turtleneck is for real.  Who on earth decides that purple, red, and two shades of blue would make a great combo?

I also did my token nod to holiday baking and actually got it all done.  Though I wondered when I was halfway through hand dipping 165 peanut butter bon-bons in chocolate what part of the whole project sounded like a great idea.

We even had a day when it was sunny enough to bleach diapers!

The has been a very very good week.  To top it off, guess what I’m going to be doing next Saturday morning.  Give up?

I get to run 10 miles at the beach with a friend on a day when it’s supposed to be sunny and 75 degrees.  It’s off to California for Christmas for us, where we get to introduce our cute little guy to all the people he hasn’t met.  I am so excited!

Responses

  1. Cute pic of Isaac there – have a great trip to California!


Leave a Reply

Categories

