Posted by: Ingrid | December 31, 2009

Sleep

I’m starting to miss it.

Isaac slept through the night (down at 7:30, dream feed at 10:30, would wake up around 7:00 am) for about a week in November.  Then the drool started and with the teething (that produced at tooth before 4.5 months!) he started waking up an extra time during the night regardless of whether or not I did the dream feed before I fell asleep.  Since coming home Sunday night things have gone from kind of annoying to frustrating.  He goes to bed between 7:30 and 8:30 and wakes up screaming like he’s hungry 1-5 times during the next two hours.  Then he sleeps until about 1:30, wakes up and eats and then repeats around 4:00 and then at 6:00.

He doesn’t seem to be just snacking as he’ll eat for 10 minutes each time which is what he does during the day.  He doesn’t really cry much, just wakes up, eats, and goes back to sleep.

This is driving me nuts.  I see no reason why he can’t sleep a little longer.  He’s not starving – he’s in the 75% for weight!  Has anyone else out there experienced a sleep change like this?  What did you do?  I’d chalk it up to a growth spurt except it’s lasted several days now.

Help!  I miss sleeping!

Responses

  1. Wish I could help you but any of my notes probably won’t be valuable to compare with for another few years, when our kids’ 4 month age gap won’t be quite so significant. 😦

    But thanks for mentioning that Isaac gets a full feed in 10 min – Naomi does too and it’s only taken 2 weeks of really good daily diaper counts to make me feel mostly confident that she is indeed getting enough!

  2. My little one stopped sleeping through the night over the holidays. I chalked it up to schedule disruption due to lots of visiting with family & friends and severe jet lag (we moved her through seven hours worth of time zones). However if she doesn’t start sleeping through the night again soon I was thinking of starting her on rice cereal a little early with the thought that maybe my milk is no longer satisfying enough for her growing body (she is about 10 days older than Isaac & weighs almost 15 lbs).

  3. Yes, my son has been vacillating between sound sleeper and the Princess and the Pea for a good month now. His longest sleep is 11.5 hours and then on rough nights he’ll only last 1-2 hours at a time. I use a sleep tracking site called Trixie Tracker in order to retain my sanity and hope for the future. My son is about 18 weeks now and 95% percentile for weight. It seems that his wakings may be in part growth spurt related as “they” say these spurts last 2-4 days… I haven’t even begun dealing with the teething yet.

    I love reading your weblog. I discovered your blog when googling for things related to running during pregnancy. Thanks for writing!

  4. Oh, I forgot to add that my son’s sleep seemed to improve when I made the transitions to bottles at night. I do exclusively breastfeed, but with my resuming a variable schedule for my work, my son HAD to take a bottle of breastmilk or two a day from Papa, or even *GASP* take a bottle of breastmilk before going to bed if I am working a PM shift! There was a really difficult 24 hours while we made the transition, but since then, he’s been much more willing to soothe himself to sleep without my breast. I still feed him all day when I am home, but I pump and feed bottles after 5pm and for bedtime. Will this apply to you and your sleep needs? Meh, one never knows, but I hope you all start getting better rest soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

