Posted by: Ingrid | January 1, 2010

New Year’s Eve

I have never run a race on New Year’s Eve.  I used to read about them in Runner’s World and think that running at night on the last day of the year sounded like so much fun.  Based on that, I signed up for the Eve on the Ave that Jackson did last night at 10:00 pm.  Except things often sound so much better on paper.  For most of the day my mind was fairly whiny.

But I hate 5Ks!

It’s 18 degrees.  I don’t want to run when it’s that cold!

I don’t want to try to run fast and slip on the ice on the roads.

Why would I want to drive to and wait at the run longer than I’ll actually be running?

This stupid 3.1 miler messed up my running schedule this week.

In short, I was not a happy camper.  But off the three of us went, plus another friend who joined us for the run.

I love how Isaac’s warm weather outfit makes him look like the younger brother in A Christmas Story.

I’m glad I did it, in the end.  This is my third 5K ever and my second one non-pregnant.  My best time three years ago was 23:30-ish (I think).

We hung out for a while in the warm church before heading out to the cold icy course that ran through downtown Jackson.  The course was fairly flat although the wind was coming right at us from one of the directions we ran in.  I realized halfway through that first of all, I need to actually train for a 5K if I want a really good time and secondly, you need a strategy to get through the 3.1 miles fast.  You should not, halfway through, need to look at your Garmin and think, Wait… how fast have I been going? I think that’s one of the reasons I don’t like 5Ks – you have more training to do than you think plus you have to have every bit of the course planned out in your mind.  So I will keep that in mind for next time.

Here Melody and I are at the beginning of the race.

The good news is that I finished in 22:39 which is faster than I anticipated.  I was the fourth woman to finish and come on, who doesn’t want to PR on the last day of the year when you haven’t been training?  I tried not to think about the fact that the two cross country girls who came in first and second finished in under 20 minutes and that I would love to shave 3 minutes off my time and ultimately run under 20 minutes.  I just don’t know how to train for that.  I’m guessing that shorts, warmer weather, and no ice could shave off a couple of seconds, but three minutes is quite a chunk of time!

After the run.

We both won pies because we came in first in our age group (though to put it in perspective there were all of three women in the 30-34 group).  What runner doesn’t want to ring in the new year with a gigantic chocolate cream pie and an over-tired baby?

Happy New Year, everyone!

Responses

  1. Looks like (cold!) fun!! 🙂 Congrats on the PR – what a great way top start the year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

