Posted by: Ingrid | January 4, 2010

Where has all the eggnog gone?

That’s a great question, I’m glad you asked!

We finally finished the eggnog yesterday.  Oddly enough, both Husband and I missed the writing on the front of the carton proclaiming that the drink was “Eggnog flavored low-fat milk”.  Had we known this sooner I probably would have drunk more and he would have left it alone.

But the point is, we finished it, the dregs of the last carton making a wonderful addition to several cups of coffee and tea.

We tried the French Toast option, but I thought the bread was too soggy so I didn’t make extra to freeze.

I did, however, happen upon a wonderful bread recipe (sort of like eggnog pound cake) that Husband and I ate in about 48 hours and that I would most definitely make again.  It only uses a cup of eggnog, but I made two other loaves to give away.  Here’s the recipe.  Delicious!

The remainder of the eggnog I turned into ice cream.  We don’t have an ice cream maker so I mixed the half gallon of eggnog with a cup of Splenda, some nutmeg, a pinch of salt, and two teaspoons of vanilla extract.  I put it in a metal mixing bowl and stuck it in the freezer, stirring every half hour until it froze.  I love the taste.  It’s the sort of thing that I’d think of combining with crushed ginger cookies.

Now I can get my eggnog ice cream fix for the next few months and even add spoonfuls to coffee if I want eggnog creamer.  Everyone wins!

Thanks for the suggestions!

Responses

  1. I like eggnog, ecspecially of how it’s put to Christmas and New Year’s Eve. If eggnog was sold every day it would be like this: Eggnog Taste:
    1st day: Eggnog
    2nd day: A little more bland tasting eggnog
    2 weeks later: nye cowpoo


Leave a Reply

Categories

