Posted by: Ingrid | January 6, 2010

Christmas in Pictures

Before we’re too far into the new year I feel like I need to wrap up loose ends from our Christmas trip.  It really was a lot of fun (not just the running part) but the trip was also a very good reminder that I am finite and so are the people I love.  I didn’t get to see anyone as much as I wanted.  Then there were people I hoped to see and didn’t and people I was sure I’d see but then something came up at the last minute and they couldn’t make it.  I just had to accept that we had a limited amount of time and people are super busy before Christmas.  But it’s hard when you wish you could see everyone and time didn’t matter at all.  Being back made me realize how much I miss my friends and wish I could transport them all to Michigan.

We unexpectedly ran into Margit at church.  She was one of my friends who helped out at Isaac’s birth.  That was a fun surprise for me.  Isaac had already passed out during the sermon and didn’t pay much attention.

This is the kind of attention that you get when you’re a baby.  Looking at it now I realized that I missed the black and red memo.  I also managed to wear just about the same thing at every event we went to.  Such is the life of someone living out of a suitcase who only brought enough outfits for a few days.

Clint’s “Grad Parents” and Issac.

We stopped at Golden Spoon one evening for our frozen yogurt fix.

After sharing a quart as a pre-dinner snack and breakfast the next morning I think we satisfied the craving.

I got to see a childhood friend of mine who had her baby just a few weeks before Isaac was born.  I really wish all my friends with babies lived closer!

It was fun seeing Isaac with other kids his age (5 months, 3.5 months, and almost 4.5 months).  He apparently beats them hands down in size.

Then we did the tummy time contest.  Jackson dropped out almost immediately and then there were two.

Poor Isaac.  Can’t… hold… head… up… any longer.

Hudson wins!

Christmas Day.  Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures in the evening when we saw all of the family.

The best part for Isaac was the ribbon.  I’m going to remember that for next year.  I think it would be kind of funny to see how long we can go without getting him any gifts.

Then the plane ride home with some father son bonding.

I’ve come to realize, though not quite accept, that air travel is no longer my time to kick back with a book, some magazines, a bunch of lists, and my journal.  No, not with a baby.  At least he wasn’t mobile and wanting to run up and down the aisles.

I was so happy to see snowy Detroit as we made our descent even though I worried a little, wondering if they needed to salt the runways to keep the plane from slipping when it landed.

And now Christmas is all packed up and over.  And now that I’ve posted pictures I can move onto January and my to do list.  Or something like that.

Responses

  1. Did you buy him a seat or fly with him in a baby carrier? I’m trying to decide how I’m going to travel with my soon-to-be 8 week old in a month to see grandparents.

    • Jacqi, he flew as a lap infant and we checked the baby carrier. He mostly slept on the plane. On the last leg of our flight coming home the plane wasn’t full so we were able to set him on the seat between us. I don’t want to pay for him until I have to! When I flew with him at 2 weeks it also worked out well just holding him. I would recomend it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

