Posted by: Ingrid | February 1, 2010

No one tells you it will be like this

Just a quick note on postpartum bathing suits as we get ready to go out of town on a retreat that is being held at a hotel with five (FIVE!) pools!  And a waterfall!  And hot tubs!  Oh, hot tubs, how I missed you when I was pregnant…

Now I have to admit to some cynicism when, after the holidays were over, I walked into Khols and found that the coat section of the store had been taken over by bathing suits.  BATHING SUITS!!!  In January.  Truly, things like this should not be.  I mean, nothing says bathing suit like 7 degree weather and too many Christmas cookies, right?  I know that’s when I’m most inspired to hang out in a dressing room under yellow lights with garishly printed suits that get more expensive the less fabric they have.

But maybe I should have stopped to take a look.  Because right on the heels of revelry over the pools and hot tubs at my disposable came the realization that I need to wear a bathing suit to enter.  Not that I mind the bathing suit part per se.  I like my postpartum body just fine and all the weight has been off for a while now.  But then I took stock of my bathing suit collection, pieced together over the past five years and often not worn out in public.

I mean, aside from making awesome teething toys, do any of these bathing suits particularly scream “pastoral retreat” at you?  Not so much.  And that was before I tried them on in hopes that something would fit properly.  If someone were to ask if I’ve “gotten my figure back” I would have to respond with, No, I got Barbie’s figure and NONE OF MY CLOTHES FIT ME ANYMORE!  But thanks for asking.

So there you go, all you pregnant women, there is the honest truth.  Who knew that something as natural as breastfeeding could make someone look so unnatural?

And now I’m in the market for a new bathing suit.  In February.


Responses

  1. Seeing bathing suits in stores in February is almost as ridiculous as seeing the winter parkas in August.

    I hate shopping for bathing suits and haven’t bought a new one in probably four years. Other than cross-training in a pool, I almost never have need of one. Although when I do seem to need a suit for other reasons than swimming laps, I feel like I should show up in something a little cuter than a plain black Speedo. If you’re looking for a nice two-piece, I’ve always thought titlenine.com had a really nice selection, even if the prices are a bit on the high side.

    Thanks for letting me know that if I ever have a baby, the bathing suit shopping experience will just be worse! 🙂 Hope you were able to find something and that you have fun on the retreat.

  2. Hi Ingrid – I noticed from facebook that you have a blog and surfed on over. This post is too funny and all too true! I have already started thinking about how/where am I going to find a bathing suit that I like this summer….definitely something more durable than in the past since I am sure to be playing in the sand, chasing Holt around, etc. as opposed to relaxing in the sun and sleeping.

  3. You deserve to show off that Barbie body. You’ve earned it in more ways than one!


Leave a comment

Categories