Posted by: Ingrid | April 3, 2010

SIXTEEN!

Yes, that title is in all caps because I do not know when my last sixteen mile run was.  I remember doing fourteen right before finding out I was pregnant, but sixteen…?  Not for a long time.  But today’s long run on the schedule was a sixteen miler.  Having missed the fourteen miler two weeks ago (turned it into a twelve because husband needed to get to church and it was yucky outside and I got up late and didn’t want to run in the first place) I wasn’t sure what to expect from today.  I wanted to try to get the sixteen done in 2:20, which would be an average of 8:45 per mile.  I broke the run down into five sections.  Three miles in the neighborhood, almost two miles out to the trail, out and back with friends for ten miles there, and then a little over a mile towards home.

I did it!

I finished in 2:16, which drops my pace to an average of 8:30 per mile which I am very pleased with.  Got to work on my running short tan and the morning was beautiful!  A good long run leaves you salty from sweat with gu stains on your fingers and vaseline and sunscreen smeared all over.  And now that it’s warmer there are bugs all over too.  I inhaled my share and found the rest under my sports bra later on.  Ew.  Wearing and eating bugs are not on my list of favorite things to do.  But that run was worth it… wow!

The half marathon is in three weeks and I still have not signed up.  But the training is going great!

Responses

  1. Awesome!! I love those runs where you start out thinking there’s no way I can do this, and then everything just seems to fly by as you push through the miles. I did a 9-miler on Friday the most I have run in 3 months and although it was slow, it was something!!

    • Great job on the 9 miles! I think there’s something about those particular kinds of runs that help develop the mental toughness that runners need.


Leave a Reply

Categories

