Posted by: Ingrid | May 10, 2010

FIRST Run Less, Run Faster 10K Training Experiment: Week 1

So I figure as long as I’m going to do this crazy run less program I might as well blog about the weeks as they go by in case someone else wants a good idea as to what this plan is like.  Mind you, this program is twelve weeks long and I’m jumping in at week eight.  I do not necessarily recommend this!

Weekly Mileage: 24

Monday (Speedwork): 6 miles total.  Run 6×800 meters in 3:07 for each repeat with one and a half minute recovery time in between.  I thought I had this nailed but the workout kicked my butt!  I only did 4×800 (3:10, 3:10, 3:11,3:13) and felt like I was going to collapse.

Tuesday: Biked for 50 minutes.  It was boring but at least I managed to study for my final at the same time!

Wednesday (Tempo Run): 8 miles total.  Warm up 1 mile, 1@7:03, 1@8:38, 2@7:03, 1@8:38, 1@7:03, 1 mile cool down.  Mile splits were 7:03, 7:03, 7:04, and 7:07 – very close to what they were supposed to be.

Thursday: Biked 50 minutes.  I need something engaging to read and I also need to start pedaling faster.

Friday: Jillian Shred #3 – took it easy because tomorrow’s Saturday’s run looks hard.  Not really sore from the tempo workout.

Saturday (Long Run): 10 miles total.  This was supposed to be 8 miles at a 7:33 minute pace.  I did a warm up and cool down as well which added 2 miles.  It was cold and windy!  Does anyone else run faster when they’re running into the wind?  My time for the 8 miles was 59:35 – my fastest ever and a 7:25 average.

Sunday: Jillian Shred #3 – legs are sore from yesterday!

Responses

  1. Just one thought. Your 800 repeat times are really fast! But (and I’m only saying this because of what my husband coach has said to me) if you’re goal is to do 6, you should probably settle with doing the first 4 a little slower so you can make it through all 6 next time. Then your times will gradually come down for all 6 the more you do these repeats.

    Super fast time on the 8 miles! This training plan seems to be working :).

    • That’s a good idea,SLG. I think I was expecting to hit the times right on and got discouraged after the first few intervals I think that part of my problem was thinking that it would be easy to go from half marathon training to training for a 10K. I need to stop thinking that speedwork is supposed to be comfortable too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

