Posted by: Ingrid | May 17, 2010

FIRST Run Less, Run Faster 10K Training Experiment: Week 2

Weekly Mileage: Supposed to be 19 miles but I ended up at 25.5 miles.

This week was weird.  I ran an additional day and did a 5K instead of my tempo run and shortened the long run (supposed to be 10 miles@7:33) because the 5K was in two days and I had to do my long run mid-week.

Monday (Speedwork): 6.5 miles total.  Run 4×1200 meters in 4:46 for each repeat with a 400M  recovery time in between (4:57, 4:51, 4:53, and 4:44).  It was hard to get into the run because it was colder and earlier than I normally go out.

Tuesday: Biked for 50 minutes.

Wednesday (Long Run): 9 miles total (1:09:45).  Warm up 1 mile, 7 miles in 51:58 – fastest 7 miles to date, I think!  1 mile cool down.

Thursday: Jillian Shred dvd level 3.

Friday (Tempo Run): 4.1 miles.  5K race (21:11) with a 1 mile warmup  I was supposed to do 3 miles @7:03 but hit 6:49, 6:52, and 6:42.

Saturday: Ran an easy (and beautiful!) six miles and enjoyed looking at all of the greenery rather than my Garmin.  Also did level 1 Shred dvd.

Sunday: Off

Responses

  1. Hey, what is this “Shred” thing? Great 5k time, by the way!

    • Thanks! The Shred DVD is Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred DVD. It has three 20 minute workouts that include some ab work, weights, and cardio. I like doing the videos for the weight workout since I can’t make it to the gym anymore.

  2. Great job on your 5k! Anyway, I love Jillian Michael’s shred. Her No More Trouble Zones (I do the quick one b/c it is 20 minutes) and Yoga Melt are great workouts too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

