Posted by: Ingrid | May 24, 2010

FIRST Run Less, Run Faster 10K Training Experiment: Week 3

Weekly Mileage: 24 miles

This week I learned that I have a hard time with speedwork.  So far I’ve done okay with one week and have given up on two.  I did hit a new time for my eight miler – 59:11, which I was pretty happy with!

Monday (Speedwork): 6 miles total.  I was supposed to run 5×1000 in 3:55 each with 400 meter rest intervals.  Made it through two repeats in 4:05 and one in 4:13 and then gave up.  Part of it was that I blanked and couldn’t remember that 1000 meters is equal to a kilometer and did all sorts of weird programming things to my Garmin.  Then I got slower and slower and didn’t have the mental energy to keep pushing.  Oops.

Tuesday: Biked for 45 minutes and did the Shred DVD.  I still don’t like biking much.

Wednesday: Shred DVD and 2.5 mile walk

Thursday (Tempo Run): 8 miles total.  1 mile warm up, 6 miles in 43:30 (7:14, 7:12, 7:13, 7:22, 7:12, 7:12).  Can you tell which mile involved a hill? 1 mile cool down.

Friday: Shred DVD level 2

Saturday (Long Run): 10 miles total (1:17:15).  Warm up 0.75 miles.  Eight miles in 59:11 (PB!) with a 1.25 miles cool down.

Sunday: Shred DVD level 3

Leave a Reply

Categories

