Posted by: Ingrid | May 30, 2010

FIRST Run Less, Run Faster 10K Training Experiment: Week 4

Weekly Mileage: 20 miles

I’m still having trouble getting my speedwork as fast as it’s supposed to be.  Is there anything (other than just getting out and doing it) that I can do to improve that aspect of my running?  I can’t believe that I only ran 20 miles this week and it only phased me slightly.  I also find that I have to keep in mind the time of day and temperature when I run now that it’s summertime.  Both can impact the quality of my running but I forget about them until afterwards.

Monday: Successfully talked myself out of running.  Biked for 45 minutes and did the Shred DVD level 1.

Tuesday (Speedwork): 6 miles total.  I was supposed to run 3 mile repeats with 1 minute rest intervals with the miles at a 6:30 pace.  Despite the fact that it was late morning, warm, and half the world seemed to be mowing and edging the grass around the track I hit 6:31, 6:46, and 6:34 – two of my fastest miles ever!

Wednesday: Biked 50 minutes and did the Shred DVD.

Thursday (Tempo Run): 5 miles total.  1 mile warm up, 3 miles in 21:20 (7:07, 7:07, 7:06).  Could not for the life of me get my mile pace down to 7:03, but it was close enough.  Shred DVD level 2.

Friday: Bike 45 minutes.

Saturday (Long Run): 9 miles total.  Warm up 0.75 miles.  Seven miles in 52:35 with a 1.25 mile cool down.  Made the unfortunate mistake of heading out at 5:00 pm with no water.  I realized later that it was 90 degrees  – no wonder it felt so hard!  Shred DVD level 1.

Sunday: Shred DVD level 3/Walk 2-3 miles.

Next Saturday is the Sunburst 10K.  I’m curious as to how it will go.  I’m pleased with my training so far and am sure I will PR (anything under a 47:20) but don’t have any idea how fast I will be able to run it.  I would love to be under 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

