Posted by: Ingrid | August 12, 2010

Channeling my Mother

I just couldn’t do it.

When push came to shove, I couldn’t give Isaac a sugary cake loaded with gobs of icing on his birthday.  I mean really, the last thing this kid needs is sugar!

This brought to mind the uncomfortable suspicion that I am doing just what my mother did for me, holding off on sugar as long as possible.  Why I thought I would be plunking a chocolate dream cake in front of Isaac at the tender age of one is beyond me.  Instead, he got his very own…cake.  If you could call a modified (ie. sugar removed) whole wheat muffin recipe that used up some of the applesauce and sweet potato that he has no interest.  Then I frosted it with whipped cream cheese mixed with apple juice.  Help!  My mom would be so proud.  I even found myself eyeing tofu in the store last week (I grew up eating a mix of tofu, all natural no-salt peanut butter, and raisins – don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!)

I’m sure you will notice the hypocrisy involved.  I mean, wait, the cupcakes also contained no sugar and the green color is purely natural. Ha.

The level of enjoyment, however, was unmarred by the lack of sugar.

The weirdest thing to me is that he ended up cleaner at the end than he was when he first started in on the frosting.  I am a little appalled at the fact that my son seems to like frosting as much as I do – he was perfectly happy to scrape it off the top of the cake, which is totally MY job in this house… I will have to train him out of that!

Responses

  1. Love this post. Do you want to post the ratio of whipped cream cheese to apple juice because….that cake looks pretty tasty to me. 🙂

  2. Cream cheese and apple juice sounds like genius to me! I may have to try that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

