Posted by: Ingrid | August 23, 2010

Belated birthday blog

Two words for next year’s birthday celebration.

Family dinner.

It is amazing how quickly baby birthday plans can spiral out of control.  Suddenly I found myself thinking that I would make and decorate a cake.  And decorate the house.  And, in keeping with the wooden ABC block theme I would make blocks out of large square boxes to set on the floor and smaller boxes to hang from the ceiling.  In all my spare time!

So I spent the few days before the little party reigning myself in and minimizing my to-do lists.  Gradiose plans plus an active one year old and a vacation starting the day after the party don’t equal anything good!

It turned out to be a lot of fun once everything got set up and the people came over.

Isaac was a big fan of having lots of other people around.  He was pretty excited about baby Abigail, in particular.

The cake and food turned out great, including the cake.  I was glad I didn’t do anything too fancy… maybe I will learn how to decorate cakes later, when I have more time.

Isaac enjoyed his own green number 1 cake that he had fun destroying and smearing around.  Good call on my husband’s part to turn the icing green so that he’d make more of a mess!

I made some party favors out of oreos and chocolate that I would definitely make again (except for the fact they involved a lot of steps).  All in all, the party was fun and I will try to remember to simplify things next year!

Responses

  1. Wish we could have been there! Sadly, we didn’t get the invitation until the day after the party. 😉 Happy belated birthday, Isaac!


Leave a Reply

Categories

