Posted by: Ingrid | September 27, 2010

The most wonderful time of the year

You may think I mean Christmas, though I don’t.  Because Christmas and Advent, wonderful as they may be, are sandwiched between cold and snow and grey gloomy February around the corner.  The lovely thing about having seasons though, is this: wait a few more months and the next one will be here.  Having spent a full year in Michigan I can now say summer will be my least favorite season.  Summer?!?! You ask… What happened to the bone chilling winters? Let me tell you, there are two words that tipped the balance in favor of winter: bugs die.  Summer is too humid and too buggy.  That is my executive opinion.

Sometime just after Labor Day we rounded a bend and suddenly it was autumn.  Perhaps the fact that last year I was dealing with a new baby, trying to adjust to new people and a new state while my husband adjusted to a new job, and trying hard to unpack boxes is the reason that I have almost no memory of last September.  All I remember is building up more mileage each week, not sleeping much, and wishing desperately that the last four pounds from pregnancy would just go away.  What a horrible waste of such a great month!

This year, however, I am savoring the early autumn sweetness that is the month of September.  How on earth have I lived so long without experiencing the exhilarating of September days with just a hint of smoke and chill in the air?  I think I could handle half a year of these wonderful days; the perfect blend of factors that make you want to bake breads with cinnamon and streusel topping and throw caution to the wind by adding whipped cream to your pumpkin spice latte at Starbucks.

One of the best surprises of actually being present for September has been the early spots of color in the trees that I see while running.  Round a corner and… red tree!  Except it’s not the show of color that you get in later fall.  That is an entirely different show and one that after awhile becomes the norm.  Right now there is so much green still that the spatterings of yellow, red, and orange that paint the trees in patches is delightfully surprising.

I absolutely love autumn.  I don’t think I would ever want to live somewhere that doesn’t deliver a sufficient amount of that particular season.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have cookies to bake!

Running Song of the Day:  Nice Piece of Art by FM Static

Responses

  1. Oh, this was just lovely to read. You describe it so well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

