Posted by: Ingrid | October 5, 2010

Have you hugged your muscles lately?

Because maybe you should.

Having just come out of 2.5 hours of lecture in which we dove into the function and structure of muscles I am feeling a tad shell-shocked.  My teacher is the type who spends thirty seconds asking if anyone has any questions and then barrels through an amazing amount of rapid-fire information for the entire time she has been allotted.  She is a very good teacher, but can you say information overload?

It doesn’t help that this is all information that is not on the upcoming exam which always leaves me wondering if I should really try to remember and sort through it yet.  We just sat through a barrage of myofibrils, sarcoplastic reticulum, myofilaments, and acetylcholinesterase and I can’t quite keep it all straight yet.  I can, however, tell you that our muscles are spectacularly amazing in what their organization, what they do, and how they do it.  I thought about my tempo run this morning and the fact that I can voluntarily tell my muscles to run faster for a certain amount of time while my cardiac muscle contracts without my telling it anything at all… what a crazily complex system we’re living in!

So if you don’t feel like hugging your muscles at least use their amazing functional ability to hug someone else!

Leave a Reply

Categories

