Posted by: Ingrid | October 18, 2010

Prepositions, particularly in

Part of me was very  sad to stop Isaac’s monthly letters when he turned one.  The temptation to continue, however, was outweighed by the fact that if we have three or four children at some point, there would come a day when I could potentially spend far too much time on multiple letters.  Dear Isaac, you are 60 months old today, Billy Bob is 32 months, and Ellen Sue is 2 months old.  And we will not be eating dinner tonight because I have way too much to write about you all.   Also, there will be no clean clothes.

Just so you know, Billy Bob and Ellen Sue are not on the names-we-want-to-name-potential-children list.  Just to clarify.

So I am sad not to be doing comprehensive updates, but that doesn’t mean I can’t do any at all.  And I have immensely enjoyed the past few weeks as Isaac has discovered prepositions.  Over, under, on top of, next to, but especially in.  I feel like every other time I round the corner I find him literally into something new.  The list of things he has managed to get into includes but is not limited to his potty chair, the oven drawer, and the salad spinner.  I do not know what on earth made him think the salad spinner would make a comfortable chair, but he seemed quite happy with it!

Responses

  1. that is hilarious–I love that you captured the photos! The potty chair kind of grosses me out though. Darn boys. 🙂

    • If it’s any less gross to you, the potty chair has never actually been used for it’s original purpose. It does double as a walker however, and gets pushed down the hallway frequently. 🙂

  2. Sweet post! But I must protest: what is wrong with Ellen Sue?

    For sincerely,

    I am Monica Sue

    • Dear Monica Sue, 🙂
      It has nothing to do with the Sue part of the name, that just rolls off the tongue nicely. I think I must have read a book once with a disagreeable character named Ellen because that is the name I really don’t care for. Funny how book characters have shaped my thoughts on which names are and are not okay for our kids!


Leave a Reply

Categories

