Posted by: Ingrid | November 10, 2010

Fifteen Months

Dear Isaac,

I know that I promised we would not have any more monthly letters, but I figured that since this month warranted a doctor’s appointment (which we are postponing due to my incorrect understanding of our insurance – oops), you deserved a little note as well.  Long ago when we had no baby, your aunt and uncle used to talk about how the rule of thumb was that you were supposed to get a plant first and keep that alive.  If you did okay with the plant you could move onto a dog or cat.  Once you had successfully cared for your pet, then you could think about getting pregnant.

I have two things to say about that.  First, that rule is wrong.  WRONG.  Secondly, bet you’re glad you’re not my plants.

(But it looks so nice… what do you mean?)

This is the fourth try taking care of Basil.  In a year.  Who knew I could so successfully kill herbs that I actually wanted around?  This was the predecessor.

Did you know that frost kills plants?

Isaac,I guess I just want to say that I’m very glad that you’re you and not a plant.  And I’m sure you are too, for a number of reasons.

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

Categories

