Posted by: Ingrid | December 1, 2010

Thirty-One Thanks

No whining today!  Just had to get that out of my system the other day.  I am thirty-one, and I am grateful and thankful:

1.  That God knows me and loves me and that I am loved for who I am, not for who others think I should be.

2.  That I have a wonderful, encouraging, loving, and supportive husband.

3.  That we have plenty of creamy peanut butter in the cupboard.

4.  For our cute little house and several heaters that are keeping it warm.

5.  That I was able to get in an eleven mile run this morning.

6.  That I have the most adorable little boy ever.

7.  That Isaac now greets me with a round of applause instead of tears when I get home from a run.

8.  For fun birthday freebies!

9.  For people who keep their Christmas lights on in the morning so that those of us who run early have something pretty to look at.

10.  That I am almost done with my school semester.

11.  For a strong healthy body.

12.  For the five year anniversary today of becoming “official” boyfriend and girlfriend five years ago.

13.  For the smell and taste of hazelnut coffee.

14.  The opportunity to take classes free of charge.

15.  The plasticity of my brain that allows me to learn and retain all of the new information this semester.

16.  Family scattered all over (though I wish you were closer!).

17.  Plans and dreams for the future.

18.  That I live in a world where cheesecake, carrot cake, and dark chocolate all exist.

19.  That I woke up to the first snow of the year: big powdery flakes falling silent from the sky.

20.  That I am running uninjured as the winter season begins.

21.  For a new book that I’m excited to read next!

22.  For baby babble and laughter.

23.  For the fact that someone invented the ipod and I get to enjoy their invention every time I run.

24.  That Christmas is coming!

25.  For clothes fresh from the dryer and a baby who thinks he can help with the laundry.

26.  For real egg nog in the fridge.

27.  That Isaac’s nursing has allowed me so much reading opportunity that Frodo made it to Mount Doom in record time.

28.  For Celtic Christmas carols.

29.  For friendships, new and old.

30.  For the continued potential for change and growth.

31.  For life in the present moment.

Yes, I am thankful indeed!  I think thirty-one will be okay. 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi Xapis,

    I am thirty one, about to turn thirty two in a few weeks! My baby is 8 months old and I am finally REALLY running again. Nothing like what you do – but seriously, thank you so much for continuing to blog about your busy life. It really encourages me to get out there when I am running off 6 hours sleep and have so much to do. It makes me get up and run even if I really need more sleep. It encourages me to be brave when I get very stressed by so many small things. This post particularly encourages me to be thankful in the midst of my Anxiety Artistry in full swing.

    I used to read your blog about a year ago and now returning to it again it is still my favourite running inspiration blog. Oh and while I was pregnant too! Well done with working to get your degree! Must be hard work with all the planning and logistics that have to happen every day with a little person.

    May God bless your work and I am sure you will be a blessing to many people as a nurse 🙂

    • Thanks for your encouraging words, Amy. I am glad you are out and running again – it is definitely harder to find time once you have kids! I have really enjoyed keeping this blog, even though I feel like I really don’t have a whole lot to say, just normal every day life stuff, so I am glad you have enjoyed reading it. Thanks for being here!


Leave a Reply

Categories

