Posted by: Ingrid | December 13, 2010

I’ll take the ceiling, thanks.

Saturday night it began to rain.  Sometime early Sunday morning the rain became snow.

The snow fell all day yesterday in gigantic white snowflakes; covering cars, wiping out footprints, weighing down trees.  It really is lovely being in the house while it snows.  We only got about 5 inches but the way it kept coming down made it seem like so much more.

It is on winter days like yesterday that I am reminded of my childhood fantasies to live during the time of Little House on the Prairie.  My parents began reading those books to me when I was three or four and I really thought for a while that that was the life I longed for.  But on days like yesterday I’m awfully thankful that I can make a cup of tea in 2.5 minutes in the microwave and that I don’t have to go out in the snow at 4:00 am to milk the cows!

This morning I got up to run 8 miles.  I put on my running clothes, no easy feat as it involves multiple layers of everything, including socks.  I finally poked my nose out the door around 8:00 am, only to find that it was about 15 below with the wind chill factor.  It was windy and snowy and just plain cold.  So today marked my first treadmill run of the season, reminding me again how much I really don’t enjoy treadmills… too many numbers and if I look anywhere other than straight ahead I nearly fall off!  Eight miles quickly became five and dread began setting in that I will simply give up running this winter because it’s hard.  Beautiful of course, but not runner friendly.

Or maybe I still just that much of a wimp.

I got home and was cleaning up the kitchen listening to our local station that has been playing Christmas music only since Thanksgiving.  I will be a little bit grinch-y here and say that I don’t really like hearing the same songs sung by various artists over and over for a month.  There really is a limit as to how many times people should be allowed to make over Joy to the World and Frosty the Snowman in my not so humble opinion.  As I was listening, a new Christmas song caught my ear (no, not the boy-band sounding one that talks about “Christmas Day-ay, ay-ay, ay-ay”) but one that exuberantly proclaimed regarding the Christmas season, “it’s a wonderful feeling/like living in a house with no ceiling.”

WHAT?!?!

Obviously they were writing their new pop hit from Tahiti.  As for me and my house, we’ll take the ceiling.

Oh yes.  In other news, our small mountain has returned for the winter.

Responses

  1. We got 20 inches of snow on Saturday (Say WHAAAAAT?) and I spent a weird amount of time thinking a out Laura Ingalls Wilder & fam and the Long Winter book where they all go crazy and Almanzo fashioned a fake wall to hide his grain. It all seems so terrible and yet…so romantic.

    So I am with you on Laura Ingalls thoughts. Where I am not with you at all is Christmas music. I put that stuff on starting late November and keep it on ALLLLLLLL DAY until xmas. Just now I was belting out some Celine Dion and all was right with the world.

    It makes my Husband want to die.

    • Well, I do make a distinction between Christmas music I choose to play (and I started up mid-November) and Christmas music that is inflicted on me 24/7 by a radio station. I have no problem if I call the musical shots. And no, I don’t have control issues. 🙂

      20 inches of snow. Wow. And morning sickness. What a combo. At least that means you have to stay put and rest, right? Maybe Bella can feed you saltines? 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

