Posted by: Ingrid | January 14, 2011

What would you do?

This is hardly a moral dilemma, nor will it make or break my marathon training, since I’m still in my first week. 🙂  That said, I am curious as to what  other people do for their long runs in the winter.  Slated for tomorrow I have a 13 miler that is supposed to be at an 8:08-8:45 pace.  For the last five miles I am meeting friends on the trail nearby.  That part sounds great.  My question is what I should do before that.

We are getting some light snow right now which will probably continue tomorrow morning so I will have to wear my yaktrax if I run the roads.  Sometimes doing this makes my knee hurt and I know that I will not be able to keep my pace where I should if I run outside.  On the other hand, I could do the treadmill and hit the right pace the whole time but then I would have to stop, get changed to run outside, and then run or drive to the trail, thereby interrupting my long run (though hopefully not my motivation since I will be meeting people!).  Part of the problem also being the fact that I don’t love my treadmill that much…  Does it really matter what I do my first week?  Probably not.  I guess I just don’t like the feeling that winter is kicking my tail at the start of my training plan.  Save that for my first twenty-miler in four weeks!  Four weeks!  Maybe that was a typo.

Also, if you are feeling particularly generous, I am also looking for yoga DVD recommendations.  Not strength training burn-calorie-biggest-loser yoga (though I do love yoga with Bob Harper) but one that will give me a nice stretch.  I noticed after my runs this week that I am feeling more sore than usual.

Recommendations?  Advice on whether to break up a long run?  Not running is not an option unless we get a freak blizzard in the next twenty-four hours… 😛

Responses

  1. I meant to post and reply to this yesterday but the day was very busy. If I had a choice, I think I would break it up (treadmill/trail) rather than run in the yaktraks (?). Not sure what those are but given that they seem to hurt your knee, I would not risk it if you are just in the early phase of your marathon training. Anyway, hope your run goes/went well!

    And yes, 5:30 am is super early for me to get out and run but my husband works late this time of year, and I just don’t have the energy to run at night after chasing a toddler around! Hope Isaac’s eating habits improve! And yes, when they can open doors, life gets very busy!!!

    • I didn’t see your comment until after my run, but I did exactly that. Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

