Posted by: Ingrid | January 15, 2011

Marathon Training: Week 1

Well, due to winter I will not be running any races soon but I did just start my marathon training.  Hurray!  Training blogging is almost as good as race reports!  I am not signed up for the Champaign, IL marathon yet and do not plan to do so until the fee increases on March 31.  That should give me plenty of time to get into training and figure out if I am really planning on committing.  As a side note, if you want to join me and run the full or half or 5K or 10K, it would be fun to meet up!

I am trying a revised FIRST Training program which I talked a little bit about here.  My revisions mostly involve adding an extra slow day of running so that I get ouside more.  Currently I am doing my speedwork on the treadmill at the gym, my shorter slow run (4-7 miles) outside, my tempo run on my treadmill in the laundry room, and my long run partially on my own (either on the treadmill or outdoors) and partially with friends at the trail nearby.  I feel like that gives me a good mix of indoor and outdoor running which still hitting my paces (very important for this program).  It felt good to be training for something again, though I was also a bit sore!  I am using the 3:30 training plan (need under 3:40 to BQ).  My PRs from last year all pointed to a sub-3:30 but because I have not done a bit of speedwork or tempo running in the past three months I don’t think I’m going to push it!  3:30 would be fantastic!

Total Miles Run: 30

Monday: Speedwork:  6-ish miles – 20 minute warmup around the indoor track, 3 mile repeats at a 6:35-6:40 pace with 1 minute rest intervals followed by a 10 minute cooldown.  Thirty minutes of NRoLFW.

Tuesday: 5 miles in the snow.  It was a nice recovery and it felt good to run slowly after Monday’s speedwork.

Wednesdsay: 45 minute bike ride with rpms around 90.  30 minutes of NRoLFW.

Thursday: Tempo Run: 6 miles – 2 miles easy, 2 miles at a 7:07 pace, 2 miles easy.

Friday: Biked 20 minutes (easy) and lifted 20 minutes (no legs)

Saturday: Long run:  13 miles at an 8:43 average pace.  Did the first 6 miles on the treadmill at an 8:27 pace and then ran out to the trail.  Strong wind running out and fairly deep snow kept the pace slower than I wanted but I felt great overall.

Sunday: OFF!  With perhaps the exception of  a 15 minute ab DVD or a yoga DVD if I ever find one I like

I am realizing the need to evaluate what I do on Fridays and Sundays as they set me up for my long run and for the next week.  My tendency is to want to do more rather than less and to get in some form of exercise each day.  During training I’m not sure that’s the best idea if I’m going to be completely rested for my next hard workout.  I guess I will have to figure that out by trial and error.

And I had forgotten how tired longer running makes me.  I just took a half hour nap before getting online.

One week down, fifteen weeks to go!

Responses

  1. hey I meant to comment on your day-in-the-life post which I loved (and want to copy!). Sounds like you are in the grove for your marathon training and that you are dealing with the snow. good on you!
    keep it up.

    • Thanks! I know that I for one would love to see what your life looks like. 🙂 Hopefully the winter running will continue to go well. I keep telling myself that January and February are the hard months. If I can make it through it will start getting a little warmer and less snowy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

