Posted by: Ingrid | February 13, 2011

Marathon Training: Week 5

Total Miles Run: 34

Monday: Speedwork: 6 miles, 2 miles warmup, 3×1600 meter repeats, 1 at 6:31 and 2 at 6:58 with 1 minute rest intervals.  Cooldown.  Also did NRLFW.

Tuesday: On retreat, biked 45 minutes and did the elliptical 30 minutes.

Wednesdsay: Tempo Run: 6 miles – 2 miles warmup, 2 miles at a 7:08 pace, 2 miles cooldown.

Thursday: 35 minute easy bike ride and the arm stuff from NRoLFW.

Friday: Long run:  18 miles.  2: 33.15 was the total time.  Fantastic run!  10 miles on the treadmill and 8 on the mostly clear roads.  Averaged an 8:30 pace when I was supposed to aim for 8:45!

Saturday: 4 mile easy run.  It was beautiful, warm, and the roads were clear.  No soreness after yesterday’s run but I definitely felt tired while running!

Sunday: Jillian’s 30 Day Shred, level 3, 45 minutes on the bike, yoga.

All in all I am quite happy with this plan now that I am almost a third of the way in.  I haven’t felt too tired, don’t feel like I have tried to do the impossible in terms of distance and speed, am not injured, and can’t believe how great this week’s 18 miler felt!  I was so nervous about doing such long runs when the longest I’d done was 13 miles back in October, but I have so far pulled off a 13, 17, 15, 20, and 18 miler the past few weekends and they have felt really strong.  I am actually enjoying the longer distances, which has surprised me.  I guess I shouldn’t say that too soon as I have my next 20 miler this Saturday.  I am also trying to play around with hydration, nutrition, and caffeine intake during my long runs since that will ultimately help me the day of the event.  I did notice a huge difference between doing the 20 miles on only about 350 calories (gu, gatorade, pre-run snack) and doing this week’s 18 miles with about 700 calories.  I had an easier recovery and much more energy this week – I nailed my last mile in 7:53!

Running song of the week: Brick by Boring Brick by Paramore

Leave a Reply

Categories

