Posted by: Ingrid | February 20, 2011

Marathon Training: Week 6

Total Miles Run: 41!

Monday: Speedwork: 7 miles, 8×600 meters: first three at 6:53, last three at 6:58.  Also did NRLFW.

Tuesday: Leisurely 6 mile run outside – beautiful!

Wednesdsay: 45 minute bike ride and NRoLFW.  Almost done with level 1!

Thursday: Tempo Run: 7 miles – OUTSIDE!  This was my first non-treadmill tempo run and I was quite pleased.  I was supposed to run 5 miles at a 7:29 minute mile and ran: 7:24, 7:22, 7:27, 7:19, 7:29.  Very happy with that!

Friday: Off!

Saturday: Long run:  21 miles!  This was supposed to be 20 miles at an 8:45 pace but I finished 21 miles in 1:58.50 – 8:30 pace overall!  This was the first long run I did without switching from treadmill to road.  All on the road, no pit stops, carrying all food and Gatorade with me.  I ran the first 13 miles alone and then met up with a friend for the last 8.  Felt AMAZING!

Sunday: Ab DVD and some yoga.  Good thing I got outside yesterday, it is snowing like crazy today!  The clear roads were nice while they lasted. 🙂

This has been a great running week!  I ended up with a longer than expected long run and more miles for the week than planned.  I feel like I had a chance to recover after my runs and feel really good after yesterday’s 21 miler.  I am glad that this program calls for five 20 mile runs now, I feel like it gives me a chance to play around more with hydration and nutrition and clothing so that I will be more comfortable for the marathon.  I definitely noticed a difference between my 20 mile run two weeks ago, where I took in 350 calories and this run when I got in 700.  I still could have used an extra gu around mile 15 and also my attempt at eating a chocolate energy bar (that got cold and therefore hard to chew) was sort of a failure.  Gu is just so expensive when you’re downing 3-4 of them per run!  At least this week my energy drink didn’t freeze in my water bottle…  Ten weeks to go!

Running song of the week: Goodbye from California by Lindsay Ray

Leave a Reply

Categories

