Posted by: Ingrid | February 27, 2011

Marathon Training: Week 7

Total Miles Run: 33

Monday: I can feel a twinge in my left knee when I do speedwork now.  I am not sure if that’s because I have been doing all of it on the treadmill or not – maybe it’s just my stride.  Regardless, I am turning my speedwork day into a moderate “at marathon pace” run, which will hopefully not be too detrimental to my training.  Did a 1 mile warmup, 5 miles at an 8 minute pace, and a 0.5 mile cooldown.

Tuesday: 45 minute bike ride and NRoLFW.  Boring, but at least I got some studying in.  

Wednesdsay: Tempo Run: 8 miles on the treadmill.  1 mile warmup, 6 miles at a 7:44 pace (46:25), 1 mile cooldown.  Felt great!

Thursday: Easy 45 minute bike ride and abs.

Friday: Long Run: 13 miles – my shortest run since week 1!  I was supposed to do 13 miles at an 8:15 pace but did the run at a flat 8 for a total of 1:44.  Unfortunately, because of weather and snow and no running partner I had to do the whole run on my treadmill.  I have never run longer than 10 miles on the treadmill so this was a record for me, though not one I ever want to surpass!  That was a really long time to be in one place.  I definitely felt strong and the run felt good.  I was not sore at all the next day.  It was nice to run less than 2 hours for once even if I did feel like a hamster. 🙂

Saturday: Jillian shred level 3 and a very relaxing evening run of 5.5 miles in the snow.  It was nice to finally get outside!

Sunday: Ab DVD and some yoga.  Bike for 30-45 minutes this afternoon.

Nine more weeks… I am feeling great so far but am still not committing to the marathon until the last minute.  I am hoping that the roads start clearing soon since running on the treadmill this much makes me nervous.  I wonder if I’m just letting the belt get me through my run or if I really have the stamina in my legs to run as fast or as far as I need to.  I am about to start the big stretch of long runs: 18, 20, 15, 20, 15, 20, which I am a little nervous about.  I have a new pair of running shoes and some gu on order and I really feel like I’ve been learning a lot about fueling and listening to my body.  Almost half way done!

Running song of the week: Not Done Yet by Superchick

 

Responses

  1. I hear ya about the weather!!! I need SPRING! But awesome run on the treadmill, that’s tough to run that fast on a treadmill…

    • Hopefully spring will be here soon! It was a balmy 40 degrees here today and I can’t believe that feels warm now!

  2. You’re doing soooo great! I have to tell you…I have run 20 on the treadmill before. Yikes. I hope you never have to do more than 13 🙂

    • Greta, you are one crazy runner! I don’t know how you survived that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

