Posted by: Ingrid | March 6, 2011

Marathon Training: Week 8

Total Miles Run: 35

Monday: Race pace run: 7 miles.  Half mile warm up and cool down with 6 miles at an 8:00 minute pace.  In the evening I went with some running friends to a Zumba class.  So.  Much.  Fun!  Doing something like that should be a must for we runners who are all about getting from point A to point B in a straight line.  There we were with all sorts of women trying to follow the dance teacher and shake all sorts of things that runners never shake.  Totally hilarious and totally fun. 🙂

Tuesday: Back to boring: 45 minute bike ride and also did the Shred level 3.  Yawn.

Wednesdsay: Tempo Run: 6 miles on the treadmill.  2 miles warmup, 3 miles at a 7:13 pace, 1 mile cooldown.  Felt great!

Thursday: Easy 45 minute bike ride and a little ab and arm work.

Friday: Long Run: 18 miles  on the roads.  This was supposed to be at a 8:30 pace.  Total running time ended up being 2:29.37.  In case you don’t want to do the math, that’s an 8:18 average!!!  I was so proud of this!

Saturday: Off.  I hadn’t had an off day in a long time, plus husband was gone on retreat, I was sore and tired, and Isaac took a short nap.  And I had zero motivation.  Oh well.

Sunday: Did the Jillian Shred level 3 DVD and a 4 mile run on the treadmill.  I know, how lame to run on the treadmill when it was 40 degrees outside, right?  One of the hazards of Sundays when your husband works at a church and is getting home from a retreat.  Isaac went down for his nap so I ran.  Some days that’s the only way it’s going to happen.

Eight weeks of training down and I am at the half way mark (and no closer to making a commitment)!  Hurray for me!  I was reminded on Friday how important the mental aspect of running is.  I discovered that my long run, that was long and fast was going to be run alone since my husband would be gone Saturday bumping my long run to Friday.  That meant I couldn’t run on the flat trail and I couldn’t even see another person to break up the run.  Then I found out it was supposed to rain.  I almost bailed, which would have been a shame since it ended up being such a marvelous run.  It fortunately only sprinkled on Friday morning and somehow, by breaking my run up into a whole lot of pieces I was still able to run a great time despite the fact that I had to tackle some hills.  This was definitely a good run for establishing mental fortitude!  Hopefully I can hold onto this for next week, when I have another 20 miler at an 8:30 pace and I again have to run solo.  Maybe the roads will be clear then, that would be awesome!

In terms of experimenting with fueling, I thought I would try eating a chocolate chip cookie around mile 10.  It never made it out of the bag because it just seemed like too much work to unwrap it, try to eat and breathe, and then chew.  I know that lots of runners manage to eat pretzels and candy bars and stuff while running but I can’t seem to get beyond Gu.  Maybe there’s a special breathing trick that I don’t know about?

Running song of the week: Bowling Ball by Superchick

Responses

  1. I can’t believe you haven’t made the commitment to race yet. Look how great you’re doing. You’ve already mastered the 18 and 20 milers, which in my training book, is all I do. You’re ready!


Leave a Reply

Categories

