Posted by: Ingrid | March 12, 2011

Lenten Lobster

Am I the only one who doesn’t associate lent with eating lobster?  Maybe it’s the stripping away and frugality that lent brings to mind that does not inspire thoughts of lobster tails in butter or flaked atop filet mignon.  Whatever the case, now that we have entered the lenten season, it is interesting to see what sorts of things are going on sale at the grocery store.  ‘Tis the season for fish: cheap breaded fish products that might be 7% real fish if you stretch it, various types of white fish, and lobster.

Since I have never in my life purchased lobster before, I decided to just do it and make something simple like lobster bisque.  I went to the store, picked up my little double lobster pack (8-10 ounce lobsters are SMALL!) then brought them home and tossed them into the fridge.  I didn’t really consider the next step until it was time to make the recipe.  Then I pulled out my lobster friends and found myself staring into the open eyes of two tentacled, many-legged crustaceans.  Um.  Now what?  I guess I hadn’t taken into account that lobsters might be, say, hard shelled, or anything.  Like I expected to be able to slip off the lobster’s shell like a change of orange clothing and find the meat ready to go.

If you have not disassembled a lobster before, that’s not how it goes.  First, you find some sort of hammer (a meat pounder/flattener worked well) and then start smashing the shell.  It’s some hard work!  Then you discover that lobsters, for all their 8-10 ounces, do not yield much meat.  If I had 3/4 cups from the two little lobsters by the end, I was lucky.  Good thing I had some fake lobster product in the fridge!  Pretty much the only place you find meat is on the tail and the two front claws.  I sort of felt like I’d been tricked.  Why does the seafood section not warn you that you are buying mostly shell?

I think I have satisfied the urge to try my hand at cooking lobster and can hold off unless I find myself lounging on the shores of Maine with someone fixing fresh lobster tails for free.  Until then, I think I can deal with the imitation stuff and without hammering crustaceans on my countertop.  On the upside, I found a really easy lobster bisque recipe that turned out great!  For anyone else interested in eating lobster for lent, here’s the recipe.

Mix 1-2 cups shredded lobster meat with 1/2 cup sherry (I used chicken boullion) and set aside.  In a large pot, heat 3 Tbsp butter.  When melted, add in 3 Tbsp flour stirring constantly.  Slowly pour 3 cups milk into the butter/flour mix while stirring.  Once the mixture thickens, add salt and pepper to taste and 1/2 tsp steak sauce.  Add lobster and sherry and cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Super easy!

Responses

  1. I’m glad I got to eat the lobster you pounded!


Leave a Reply

Categories

