Posted by: Ingrid | April 20, 2011

Bumpdate: Week 5 (February 16, 2011)

Due Date: October 19, 2011.  35 Weeks to go.  Auuuuggghhhhh!!!!  I thought this pregnancy was supposed to go faster!

Weight Gain:  Staying about the same even though my eating has been really good.  I am stressing so badly with my weight and sort of regretting we didn’t wait until I was back at the low end of my five pound comfortable range.  Petty?  Sure.  But I am very very very bothered by it nonetheless.

Symptoms:  Fun pregnancy bloat.  Also I am so warm!  I don’t remember that from last time until much later.  I get so hot at night now and when the heater is on too high.  I guess it’s good it’s winter right.

What’s different this time:  Everything seems to be taking FOREVER.  I don’t want to go read all the pregnancy books.  I am not nearly as concerned about my running.  Last time I was worried about running a 10K the day after finding out we were pregnant.  This time around I am trying to figure out how to best hydrate for my 20 miler on Saturday.  Also different is that we haven’t told any friends or family yet and are going to try to keep it that way for a while.

Cravings/Aversions:  I don’t know if it’s the fact that I am anticipating nausea in the next few weeks, but I am eating lots of veggies, oranges, and protein.  Eggs are a winner right now.  Also, blue cheese dressing (lite) over lettuce and avocado.  And I will not say no to a baked potato.

Sleep:  I wish I could get more.  I have not felt excessively tired though, for someone with a toddler, new pregnancy, two classes, and training for a marathon…

I am loving:  Not really looking or feeling pregnant.  Knowing that I have a fun secret that I’m not telling anyone.

I miss:  Knowing I could lose weight it I tried hard.  Knowing that I might have to give up trying to qualify for Boston.  Being able to drink coffee whenever.

Worries:  I am worried about the pregnancy going well, gaining weight, and that I will get substantially slower in the next 10.5 weeks.  The last two especially are pretty all consuming right now.

Movement:  Nope.

It’s a:  I think boy this week, husband thinks girl.

Exercise:  Same as usual except for having to modify my speedwork again.  I am considering doing two tempo runs because I’m not sure how productive the speedwork will be if I slow it down.  Is it better to do 6×800 meters at 6:58 or do 5 miles at a 7:30 pace?  I don’t really know.

Diet:  I am sort of doing the Bradley diet: lots of fruits, veggies, two eggs a day, and plenty of protein.  I am doing well so far but also haven’t hit the end of week 6 which is when all the yuckiness started last time around.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Tackling my 20 mile run on Saturday and doing all of the rest of my workouts as scheduled.

Belly Shot:

Leave a Reply

Categories

