Posted by: Ingrid | April 20, 2011

Bumpdate: Week 6 (February 23, 2011)

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – Only 238 days to go.

Weight Gain:  I seem to be jumping around here.  I had forgotten that if I do things like, say, go to a potluck, my weight will then go up and stay up three pounds for no reason.  I don’t know what happens with my body’s fluid levels when I get pregnant but this is totally freaking me out.  I am trying very hard to get my weight back to the 124-126 range so that I can keep it there until 13 weeks but I don’t know if that is possible.  Weight gain is right at the top of things stressing me out.  It’s even worse than last time.

Symptoms:  Extreme irritation over everything.  Hot flashes.  Headaches.  Fatigue.  Feeling dizzy.  Needing to eat often.  Frequent trips to the bathroom.  And let’s not forget the constant bloating.  I have felt ugly and disgusting for the past 3 weeks now and it’s getting very very old.

What’s different this time:  I remember being happier last time around.  Also I remember sleeping more.  My clothes fit better.  My body didn’t seem to change as fast.  I am really not liking pregnancy number two so far.  But maybe that’s because I am just Miss Pregnant Cranky-Pants this week.

Cravings/Aversions:  None, although I am trying to be super strict with eating healthy in hopes that it will impact my weight.

Sleep:  I need more.  Isaac is still waking up at least once.  I still have to get up early for exercising and some homework.  More homework during his nap means I don’t get a nap.

I am loving:  The fact that I found two places nearby that will do early ultrasounds to make sure the pregnancy is viable.  Also, we found and booked a fantastic midwife and I am super excited about that!  Other than that, I really am not loving anything about being pregnant right now.

I miss:  Not feeling like I have a layer of blubber all over me.  Being able to run without feeling too hot.  Downing coffee in the afternoon whenever I want and not limiting myself to 1.5 cups per day.

Movement:  Nope.

It’s a:  Who knows.

Exercise:  I have officially dropped my speedwork.  My 21 miler was great last week, which was nice.  I am really scared that I will not be able to continue marathon training at the pace I want (in which case I will drop it).  I am sure I could run a slow marathon but if I can’t BQ it’s not worth the expense and effort.

Diet:  Bad for a few days but I am trying for sort of a gestational diabetes diet (30% carbs) because I find that keeps my weight from going up and down as much.  I am also trying to limit sugar and just about everything else fun.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Keep going with my training and not talk myself out of it because I’m worried I can’t do it.  Also, knock my 13 mile, 8 minute per mile treadmill long run out this weekend.

Belly Shot:

Leave a Reply

Categories

