Posted by: Ingrid | April 28, 2011

All done!

As of last night, I am finished with both classes!  I cannot tell you what a relief it was to show up for my chemistry final, begin the test, and realize that it was so simple.  Makes me glad I didn’t study that day!

In particular, I will not miss the above pharmacology papers, which have been my constant friend for the past month or so.  That is, I suppose, a hazard of having two cumulative finals.  I wish I felt like I could go burn every single last piece of paper, but I just can’t bring myself to do that.  Leaving school yesterday, I felt like an enormous weight had been lifted off of my back.  What a fabulous feeling!

Despite having been in school for years and years of my life, I think I am most proud and most humbled by this semester, a busy crazy semester with a non-stop toddler and non-stop all day sickness for most of the semester.  And this is when grades really matter, since both classes count for a certain amount of points when you apply for the nursing program.  Get a 4.0 in pharmacology and you get 20 points.  Get a 3.5 and you get 10.  Get less than that and you get nothing… you get the picture.  Of course, barring the unlikelihood of finding a part time nursing program nearby or a yet unmet maiden aunt who wants to move in with us while I go to school, I will be lucky if I actually use the pre-reqs before they expire in 8 years.  Oh, but I don’t want to think about that!  Pharmacology was just frustrating and exhausting enough to not make me want to take it ever again.  It also made me never ever want to take drugs either – yikes!  Nothing like seeing that a drug is well-tolerated with few side effects… except for those few times it causes kidney failure or sudden death.

But I am done.  Done, done, DONE!  And now I have to find better things to do with my time than waste time flipping through Facebook status updates.  I don’t remember what I like to do for fun anymore.  Isn’t that sad?  I suppose I will have to make it my mission to find out!

Responses

  1. Congrats!!! What a relief! Definitely hard work to be a mommy of a toddler, pregnant and in school! Go you!

  2. Thanks! I can’t believe how wonderful it’s felt to actually have free time again. Amazing!

  3. WELL DONE! I remember the day I finished with study ( little did I know my profession would become less and less employable and I need to re-train, at least a little), I went and saw the pass mark, did not care about the rest, and went to bed. Hey you can tell this was B.C ( before children)! You will find things you love! I feel the same. I think its to do with headspace and time definitely. Hard to do things you love just in a 2 hour nap or when the baby goes to bed at last!

    Pray you find great things to refresh your heart and mind and make you feel ‘fun’! Wow! Busy times for you ahead!


Leave a Reply

Categories

