Posted by: Ingrid | June 1, 2011

Bumpdate: Week 20

Due Date: October 19, 2011- Halfway there!

Weight Gain:  Ten unfortunate pounds.  Apparently this is just what my body likes to gain at 20 weeks.  Oh well.

Symptoms:  Much more normal second trimester stuff.  I will be ravenously hungry, eat something, then feel incredibly full.  Of course there is the constant feeling tired, but I chalk that up to a toddler and the humidity that has finally hit.  Whose decision was it to be pregnant in the summer?!?  Of course, there were the three evenings in a row that I threw up (and three times just on one night!) but that’s just par for the course, right?

What’s different this time:  I am trying to be pregnant while also trying to wean and sleep train a toddler.  I know that I mention every week that it was easier to be pregnant with no one else to worry about, but it really was!  We also knew we would be having a boy and I was making all sorts of lists about what the baby needed last pregnancy.  Nary a list the second time around…

Cravings/Aversions:  Give me steak!  Cucumbers!  Berries!  Salty foods!  Sharp cheese!  Still not a huge fan of sweets though I can choke down a small bowl of ice cream if husband insists.  Gotta’ make concessions once in a while when the husband is craving ice cream… 🙂

Sleep:  Well, we have been working on an earlier bedtime routine for the past three days and cautiously, I want to say that it’s going well.  It’s nice to feel like we have a couple of toddler-free hours to see each other.  On the other hand, last night it was 9:00 and the toddler was still talking in his room, so maybe the verdict is out on that.  I could still use more sleep, but it’s definitely better with Isaac in bed longer.

I am loving:  That we get to see the baby on Friday and hopefully find out the gender.

I miss: Sleeping in and leisurely mornings spent sipping coffee that didn’t involve cries for “wa-wa” and trying to shovel enough food into my son so that he doesn’t think about nursing.

Milestones:  Twenty weeks!  Half way to baby!

Best moment this week:  Getting more time with husband in the evening.  Also, the parade on Monday and seeing Isaac so excited about everything.

I am stressing over:  The fact that I can’t/shouldn’t run.

Movement:  Lots of movement going on now throughout the day.  I’m waiting for the day when Isaac gets kicked by the new sibling.

It’s a:  Surprise until Friday morning!

Exercise:  Ran 21 miles last week but probably won’t be running for a while now, since the pain is back in full force.  Same exercise routine and I finished level 2 of my lifting program!

Diet:  Meh.  Could be better.  These open houses that are going on, combined with my pregnant urges to EAT NOW are not doing me any favors.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Two weight workouts in level three.  Try to figure out how to stay sane without running.

Belly Shot:

And for those of you who still insist that there is no belly, I still insist that it’s all in whether or not there is a shirt covering it.  My proof?

Responses

  1. I still insist there is no belly! 10 unfortunate pounds!?!?! 10 AWESOME pounds, that’s a whole person growing away inside! Don’t worry about it (especially if that’s all you’ve gained by 20 weeks) you know it will come off when you start running again! 😀 Hang in there!

  2. I think you look great. Thanks for eating ice cream with me. Want to grill some steak tonight?

    • I thought you’d never ask!

  3. good work on the weaning and AND sleep training at the same time! At least if Isaac is talking in bed its happy talking, right? Like any biological activity, sleeping at an earlier our takes practise, for adults or babies! he will get used to it 🙂 Oh, and those early evening hours alone, *sigh* necessary!

    Hope he finds lots of nice food he likes 🙂 We find pancakes ( savoury or sweet) are great as they can ‘drive’ the food themselves, they get fruit ( grate in an apple), protein and milk or veg ( frozen corn) and its good food on the go! My baby is only 1 and we are weaning down to twice a day, but we still cave for comfort feeds ( I am soft). Pray it all settles in soon!

    XO

    Amy


Leave a Reply

Categories

