Posted by: Ingrid | June 15, 2011

Bumpdate: 22 Weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – 126 days left to organize my life and sleep for more than 2 hours at a time.

Weight Gain:  Up 12 pounds.

Symptoms:  Getting crazy weird and vivid pregnancy dreams which is sometimes fun, sometimes scary.  Also, waking up a zillion times a night, which is not fun.  I can never remember to drink nothing after 7:30, especially in the summer.  I have yet to have a week that does not include at least one day of throwing up, but I am sure that there is one right around the corner right next to that cloud with a silver lining.

What’s different this time:  I have repeated conversations like this one:

Me: Isaac, there’s a baby in here.  A baby.  (Point to my stomach)

Isaac: Duckah? (truck) Vroooom!

Me: You’re going to have a little brother.  There’s a baby right here.

Isaac: Bus!  Budda-budda (bulldozer)! Duckah-duckah (big truck)!

Me: Okay, whatever.

Isaac: (lifts his shirt and looks down) Baaaaa-beeee!

Cravings/Aversions:  Hook me up with fruit and anything salty and I’m good.

Sleep:  Aside from the waking up all night I sleep, well, like a baby.  Oh wait, that’s exactly how a baby sleeps.  Why did I not think about this before getting pregnant?

I am loving:  That I think we might actually have Isaac weaned by the time I hit 25 weeks.  I am also really loving this pair of maternity gaucho pants that I was given.  I have a friend who used to wear something like that, even when not pregnant and I always thought that it was a style I just couldn’t pull off.  I’m a believer now.  Best.  Pants.  Ever.

I miss:  Every aspect of normality that you can think of.

Milestones:  Well, my What to Expect book puts week 22 as the end of month 5.  Hurrah, and onto month six.

Best moment this week:  I really can’t think of anything epic for this category.  Maybe when I realized that husband and I get to take an overnight getaway sans Isaac this month?  That was pretty big!

I am stressing over:  My class presentation in 3 weeks and figuring out how to get Isaac asleep before 9:00.

Movement:  Yes.  The baby judo studio is open for business.

It’s a:  very active little boy who will be wearing lots and lots of hand-me-downs.

Exercise:  Lifted twice, did intervals on the elliptical once, and kept up with cross training daily.  I have not run for 16 days now.  I really hope this helps!

Diet:  It’s been good, which I think is making the weight gain that much more depressing.  Pregnancy is such a disappointing time to be a creature who needs to eat.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week: Same old thing, cross train and lift.  I would be uber-ambitious and try to throw in scheduled walks and a yoga DVD but not sure I have a chance of actually getting to that.

Belly Shot:

Responses

  1. Please, can we have a photo of the gaucho pants? 🙂 (that’s when I realise that although I consider my English pretty decent, I am not, and never will be, completely fluent… especially with things I have done after having left England, like… being pregnant and having a baby!).

    I can imagine pretty easily that it is hard to be pregnant with a toddler at home… still, I can’t help being more than a little envious about you expecting #2!


Leave a Reply

Categories

