Posted by: Ingrid | July 6, 2011

Bumpdate: 25 weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – 15 weeks to go!

Weight Gain:  15 pounds up so far.

Symptoms:  I have been symptom free and loving it this week!  I even went shopping with Isaac yesterday all morning and didn’t A) come home exhausted and wanting to cry or B) devour a jar of pickles in the parking lot.  I think the second trimester good feelings just kicked in!  Too bad it’s at the end of the second tri and not the beginning…

What’s different this time:  Well, I finish a 3 unit class today (a week early) that I have somehow managed to pull off in 6 weeks.  With a 4.0 at that.  Also different is the fact that we are not packing up and moving when this baby shows up (HURRAY!), so my long to-do list has a lot of organizational and home improvement projects on it.  Also, we are taking off for a mammoth trip to Colorado and California, which will effectively speed up the end of the second trimester (I hope) and bring me back in time to hit 28 weeks.  17 days traveling with a toddler, folks.  It’ll be a grand time, I’m sure.

Cravings/Aversions:  Pretty much my only aversion is to the smell of bananas.  It’s not really bad, but I prefer not to smell them if possible.  Peanut butter is pretty close behind bananas.  Isaac is eating the peanut butter out of the jar these days, not me.  Cravings… well, I really like fruit and water filled veggies and salty foods and red meat.  But I wouldn’t say that I am craving anything in particular.  I also have not sent my husband to any fast food joints late at night.  We haven’t even had any ice cream in the freezer!  All is quiet on the cravings front.  For now.

Sleep:  Not bad.  Especially with a night away from Isaac.  I set my alarm for 8:30 instead of 5:30 and boy did that feel good!  I have officially re-claimed the un-fluffy Walmart special body pillow that I used with my last pregnancy that husband seems to like so much just because I need a little something extra so I can pretend to sleep on my stomach.

I am loving:  The thought of traveling, though I probably won’t like the reality.  Also the fact that I am done with class and my group presentation!  Freedom!

I miss:  Will anyone be surprised if I say I still miss running?  Also, I feel like I have nothing to wear!  I have still not grown into most of my maternity shirts and I am bored with what I have.  Bored, I tell you!  Same things over and over.  It is far too early in this pregnancy to have to try everything in my closet on before going out.  I blame the ill-fitting clothing on the fact that my thighs and hips, rather than my stomach, have decided to gain pregnancy weight.

Milestones:  There’s something nice about getting to week 25.  Partly that’s because I find the early 20’s to be a difficult and rather blah part of pregnancy.

Best moment this week:  Seeing my husband try to show Isaac through pictures and video that there is a baby in my stomach.  This led to Isaac patting his stomach and Clint’s, as well as mine, and asking, Baby?  So if my son comes up and thinks there’s a baby in your stomach, please don’t be offended!

I am stressing over:  Packing for a 17 day trip and the fear that Isaac won’t sleep!  Also worried that I won’t be able to find ways to exercise on our trip and I will gain 10 pregnancy-unrelated pounds.

Movement:  Yes, quite often.

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  Weird week with being gone for two days and then having the gym closed for the Fourth of July.  I think that I ended up with a rest day in there somewhere because of one of those factors.  Other than that, I got in a good hour of cardio a day and started level 4 in New Rules of Lifting.

Diet:  Pretty good despite being out of town and celebrating the Fourth of July.  I am trying to be good and get plenty of protein, fruit, and veggies to balance out the not-so-great dietary choices.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Keep exercising while on vacation!  This is the first time we will be gone for a large chunk of time without my being able to run.  I don’t quite know what to do with myself, but am trying to find options!  If you have any suggestions, aside from the obvious one of walking, let me know!

Belly shot:

Responses

  1. Not super exciting- but how about a circuit? Like jumping jacks, squats, lunges, wall push-ups…can you find a hill to lunge up? Resistance band in your suitcase? Hiking?

    • That’s a good idea! I know at least in the Bay Area there are some trails nearby. I will have to write up some plan so that I feel I have options when I need them. Thanks for the suggestion, Stefanie!

  2. Agree with the circuit suggestion. You can combine some body-weight stuff with hiking, maybe, and get aerobic and strength training in one!

    Re: maternity clothes – I live in Germany, so maybe this tip is not valid for the US, but ebay has been a fantastic source for me.

    Nice bump! 😀

    • Thanks! I actually have quite a few maternity clothes, unfortunately the growth of my stomach doesn’t seem to match where clothing manufacturers think I ought to be. I can’t imagine how hard it must be to get clothes like that outside of the US. What do women in Germany wear when they get pregnant – surely they don’t all shop ebay! 🙂

  3. Ah yes, the old stomach size/weird elastic waistband mismatch! Here in Germany, maternity clothes are either from H&M, which is crap – poor quality and the stuff never fits right – or really cool, but superexpensive special maternity brands. Hence the raging popularity of ebay. Superexpensive brands for €12, everybody wins!

    Hm, have you tried just buying regular low-rise jeans in a slightly larger size? That worked for me for a while. I just bought jeans with a waistband one inch bigger than I normally wear and plenty of stretch.

  4. oooh! I know!
    when I was pregnant I used to have to fly to melbourne once a month ( only a one hour flight but I always stayed overight). I didn;t buy these but I kind of made my own:

    http://fitdeck.com/what_56_cards.php

    You make your own ‘fitdeck’ based on all the cool Jillian Michaels moves you know and rotate strength and cardio moves. I used to bring a little skipping rope and do jumping jacks, push-ups, dips, lunges, squats etc.
    I couldn’t walk because I inherited my mother’s loose ligaments and even walking 7 minutes hurt. Weirdly I could do all sorts of other exercises!


Leave a Reply

Categories

