Posted by: Ingrid | July 13, 2011

Bumpdate: 26 Weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – 98 days to go.  Inching towards the third trimester with one week left.

Weight Gain:  I get a scale break for the next few weeks.  Unfortunately, I feel like I have gained a ton of weight being on vacation.  And the mirror in our room does me no favors.

Symptoms:  Feeling more practice contractions but really am not experiencing anything really bad or abnormal except the occasional heartburn.

What’s different this time:  I feel like I am a lot bigger this time around and much more tired.

Cravings/Aversions:  Not really, just eating too much in general.

Sleep:  Well, I we have had to deal with the two hour time difference the past few days (Isaac was awake by 5:30 am our first morning in Denver – Gah.) and we have another hour’s jump to make today when we head out to California.  While our two late nights have helped Isaac acclimate to the time change they have wiped me out.  After all, I don’t go to sleep at 1:30 am when I’m NOT pregnant and it’s certainly not my preference when I am.  So I’m tired, but mostly not because I’m pregnant.

I am loving:  Um… searching for something…. anything…  Oh!  I love the fact that nothing I have to wear involves buttons or zippers for the next 14 weeks.  I also was happy to have found something to wear to the wedding this past weekend.  Thank you, Meijer, for $17 non-maternity maxi dresses…

I miss:  I was organizing pictures the other day and came across a picture someone took from my last running event at the half marathon this past October.

 I feel like this picture encapsulates most of what I miss.  I miss my body.  I miss my running.  I miss the sense of control over life that you feel when your child moves into toddlerhood and is not quite so dependent on you.  I miss normal.  And I know that the normal I am missing will never be normal again now that we have moved on to two children.

Milestones:  26 weeks?  I don’t think there is anything very epic about that.  Hitting 26 weeks pregnant is like turning 19.  Not very memorable.  Although one of my weekly updates informed me that baby is about 1.5 pounds.  So I guess that’s a cool milestone.

Best moment this week:  Seeing friends in Colorado has been great.  Also, Isaac’s declaration: “I Idaack.” (I’m Isaac.) has been cute.

I am stressing over:  The next 12-13 days of travel with Isaac.  Wondering if I will ever catch up on sleep.  Wondering if my introvert battery which is almost on empty will ever be recharged.  Also stressing over eating, weight gain, and exercise over the next two weeks since I am feeling so blah right now.

Movement:  Baby is getting very squirmy!

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  So far I have managed to do something each day, but I haven’t been very impressed with myself.  30-60 minutes on a bike doesn’t keep me feeling good, and so far that is all I’ve been able to manage.  Part of that is having no nap times, not much time for anything in general, not being able to get out of the room early because of a sleeping toddler, and not having any other options while in the hotel.  Surely this will improve once I’m on my own with a toddler, right?

Diet:  I usually do okay for the first part of the day and then everything goes downhill.  Hopefully once we are actually staying with people and not in a hotel I will be able to clean things up.  I am feeling pretty icky.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Exercise more, get out for walks, try to get in some short runs if they don’t hurt.  Find a place where I can lift weights a few times.

Belly shot: (Note: The normal pink shirt did not warrant being packed for California, so I am changing colors yet again…)

And a 26 week close up.  Here we are at the point of no more ab definition.

Responses

  1. I gotta say I still think you look fantastic for 26 weeks! Sounds like with some sleep and a few more exercise endorphins you’ll be feeling a bit better; enjoy this 2 weeks of holidaying in the meantime, save the “recovery” for after!!

  2. I have to agree with Cherelli, you really do look amazing (despite how it sounds like you’ve been feeling.) It must be so difficult to be so limited with your body, I can’t even imagine. My thoughts have been with you, here’s to running again very soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

