Posted by: Ingrid | July 20, 2011

Bumpdate: 27 weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – While some outlying books and websites consider either week 26 or 29 to mark the start of the third trimester, I prefer to believe it begins at 27 weeks.  So, considering my preference, welcome to the wonderful world of the third trimester!

Weight Gain: 16-ish pounds, I think, though I have yet to know an accurate number since all the scales are different.  My weight could plateau now for the last trimester and I would be perfectly happy.  Compared to last pregnancy I am pretty much at the same point and then went on to gain 6 more pounds over the last 13 weeks.  I think it’s interesting that I have gained the same with less exercise and very little running.

Symptoms:  Minor incidents of heartburn.  Extreme weepiness when reading horrible news articles online.  Most annoying (but not uncomfortable) symptom to date has been a single patch of varicose veins on one calf.  Didn’t happen last time around and I don’t like how they look.

What’s different this time:  Well, last time I’d run my last half marathon half a week earlier.  This time I ran 4 slow miles at the same point and paid for it for days.  I will still maintain that I am bigger this time, as well.  Also, we were contemplating a cross-country move right around the start of the third trimester when I was pregnant with Isaac.

Cravings/Aversions:  Loving the protein and salt!  I still feel a strong aversion to mint gum and bananas.

Sleep:  Sleep in California has been all over the map.  Great some nights and wide awake at random points other nights.  Isaac has consistently woken me up at 6:30 am usually and just after 6:00 today, so I could definitely use a little more sleep!  I am going to be one exhausted cranky pregnant woman by the time I come home.

I am loving:  Seeing Isaac pick up more words while on this trip.  Also loving the fact that we hit the sweet spot when it came to weather in California.  Apparently at home we are having heat index readings around 105 and 107.  It was in the 70’s up north, in the 90’s in Fresno, and should be in the 80’s down south.  Love it!

I miss:  My husband!  Missing him the past week has pushed aside anything non-pregnancy that I could possibly miss, even running.  Also, I miss being home.  I miss my schedule, my space, knowing what’s in the fridge, and having everything I need when and where I want it.

Milestones: Let’s hear it for the third trimester!  Also, baby boy is the size of a pot roast and has an 85% chance of survival if born today, per FitPregnancy.com.

Best moment this week:  Seeing Isaac with various family members.  Finding out that I had finished my Psych class with a 96%.  Also, taking Isaac to 24-Hour-Fitness and spending $4 for two hours of fun for him in the kid center.  Best expenditure for both of us all trip.

I am stressing over:  All the cleaning and sorting and organizing that MUST happen soon.  I have a big ol’ list of stuff to do and only 13 weeks to do it in!

Movement:  Baby is tap dancing as I type this.

It’s a:  Boy.  At least as far as I know.

Exercise:  This week has been more diverse than normal.  Got in one last workout on the hotel bike, two rounds with Jillian’s Blast Fat, Boost Metabolism DVD, a 4 mile run and 2 mile walk that caused me pain for the next 5 days, three times on the elliptical and two New Rules workouts thanks to joining 2 gyms on a free 7-day pass.

Diet:  Not bad for being on vacation, I think.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Gym Wednesday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Jillian DVD on Thursday, rest day on Monday when we fly out, and back to normal on Tuesday!

Belly shot:

Responses

  1. Yay! Welcome to the third trimester! Love the bump! Judging by the photos here, I’d say you finally look identifiably pregnant.

    Your point about weight gain is interesting. My gut feeling, which is obviously highly scientific and evidence-based (….) says it’s kind of pre-programmed. I think you can do stuff that will make you gain *more* weight, but trying to control weight gain in the opposite direction seems futile. I get a lot of exercise and haven’t eaten refined sugar in weeks and yet I still gain nearly a pound a week. C’est la vie!

    • That was my highly scientific conclusion, too. 🙂

    • Yes, I think that I can safely agree with that conclusion as well! Pregnancy metabolism is so interesting to me. I liked how my body was while breastfeeding much better!


Leave a Reply

Categories

