Posted by: Ingrid | August 17, 2011

Bumpdate: 31 weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – Under 70 days and down to single digits on the weeks!

Weight Gain:  About 19 pounds so far.

Symptoms:  Still tired and cranky, what a surprise.  Also some weird heart burn that doesn’t seem to match any particular foods or amounts.  Like I can eat a spoonful of peanut butter mid-day when I need a snack and get heart burn.  Also, I am going to throw what has to be round ligament pain in as a pregnancy symptom now rather than a running injury.  Since the 5K my uninjured side has hurt all the time, making me think that maybe, just maybe this will go away after delivery.

What’s different this time: This baby doesn’t get talked to nearly as much as Isaac did.  Though I sort of figure that if I am talking to the toddler sitting on top of my baby belly then the baby gets whatever linguistic benefit there is even if it isn’t directed at him.  Also, I am ignoring the externals as well.  With Isaac I think I smeared Bath & Body lotion on my stomach twice a day – it’s the only time I ever remember to use it.  This time around I’m lucky if I remember to do that a couple times a week.

Cravings/Aversions:  Peaches and pickles are high on the cravings list right now, especially peaches.  I am happy to be back and cooking in my own kitchen again with more control over what I eat when.  Nothing like being away and having a craving you can’t satisfy.

Sleep:  Sleep was pretty good while we were gone, but that meant a couple 9 hour nights, an then maybe an average of 7 or so all the other nights.  Obviously not enough sleep and Isaac seems to wake up at 6 whenever I try to sleep in, giving neither of us the sleep that we need.  Even if we don’t get him up immediately he just yells and calls us.  For an hour.  Last night was particularly bad, Isaac got seven hours of sleep (2 hours sleeping, 2 hours awake, 5 hours sleeping) and I got about 6.  Can we say exhausted and super emotional?

I am loving: Being closer to the end of pregnancy than the beginning.

I miss: Being able to navigate by objects or people without bonking into them because I misjudge the size of my belly.

Milestones:  First week with only one digit in it!  Woo hoo!  I feel like the 20’s lasted forever, so being in the 30-40 week range officially feels great.  This was also the first week that Baby Boy decided to get wild and crazy with the play-with-mom’s ribs game every time I sat in the car.

Best moment this week:  When we got a great deal on a four star hotel in Chicago (thanks Priceline!) the last night on our trip and the woman who checked us in waved the $22 parking fee and gave us free breakfasts ($20 each!).  I love a nice hotel and a good deal and for some reason she wanted us to be the recipients of all her random acts of kindness for the day.  We were happy to oblige.

I am stressing over:  Isaac’s sleep is continuing to be frustrating and stressful.  I had also forgotten how active and demanding he is (and also clingy, since we left him for 5 days).  I have a huge list of things to do in the next 9 weeks and I can’t seem to get any of them done while he’s awake, which seems like all the time.  Also, I have not figured out how to clean the house appropriately so that husband doesn’t struggle constantly with allergies, but again, that’s almost impossible to do with Isaac up and awake but it impacts sleep and health for all of us.  So to sum up, I’m stressing over the fact that I can’t seem to be a mother and do anything else.

Movement: Oh yes.  He has set up a pull up bar near my ribs.

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  Did the 5K and a bunch of biking.  I am still trying to get back to my normal routine after being on vacation.  I am getting there slowly.  I am also trying to remember to do my Bradley exercises.

Diet: Pretty good.  I am loving that I found the best peaches at Meijer the other day and have managed to eat just about all of them myself.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Get back into the normal swing of things after vacationing and the 5K.  I am hoping to start level 5 in my lifting plan this week as well as get back on the elliptical.

Belly Shot: 

Responses

  1. wow, you really look like you’ve popped this week! yay belly!

  2. Woohoo! Belly! Those sleeping and eating “issues” sound sooo stressful. One of my friends with a toddler likes to say “Everything is just a phase.” Hang in there…

    P.S. I might borrow your format for my own blog, is that ok? Think of it as the sincerest form of flattery.

    • Not a problem at all! Though no belly picture? What’s with that? 🙂

      • I don’t know! I took one yesterday but when it came time to post it on the blog I was like meh…maybe not…

  3. (by “format” I mean the above list format you use for each pregnancy week…now that I am barely running at all, I have a dearth of things to say on my running blog!)

    • Yes, I have a dearth of things to say about running too (I love the word dearth). I am also finding that I want to totally ignore any mostly-running related blogs because those normal skinny running people really annoy my pregnant self.


Leave a Reply

Categories

