Posted by: Ingrid | August 24, 2011

Bumpdate: 32 Weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 – 56 days?!?!  Suddenly this is all feeling very very close.

Weight Gain:  20-ish pounds.

Symptoms:  This week has been symptom free as far as I can remember, which, these days, is not very far.  In fact, that is probably the one symptom I have been aware of this week – I am forgetting EVERYTHING.  Good thing I like (and keep) lists.

What’s different this time:  I am so, so tired and just not able to catch up on sleep or keep up with life.

Cravings/Aversions:  I had an ice cream cone the other night and it was okay, but nothing to write home about.  On the other hand, I could go into raptures over the cheese/ham/avocado that I put on bread with spicy mustard, or the blue cheese in my salad, or anything particularly salty and tangy.

Sleep:  Things have improved the past few days (I say this tentatively, knocking on wood, while holding my breath).  Isaac has slept through the night and I have been able to sleep as well without being paranoid that he is about to wake up.  I feel much much better when I get regular sleep.  Of course, then last night hit.  After 4 hours of sleeping Isaac woke me up at 1:30 during a thunder storm.  I’ll bring him to our bed. I thought.  Ha.  We didn’t fall asleep until 3:00 because of his tossing and turning and then a large tree branch fell and woke me up at 4:38 and I have pretty much been awake since.  Next time I comfort him and he stays in his crib because I seriously want to crawl into a little hole and disappear today.

I am loving: That Isaac said, “Little Brudder” for the first time yesterday.  I don’t think that he really has a concept of the baby yet, but we are trying.  Plus it just sounds so cute.

I miss: Caring about clothes.  I noticed this last pregnancy as well.  I just have no desire to look at any type of clothing, maternity or otherwise.  Not that I am a huge shopper when not pregnant, but there is just an utter lack of interest in any type of clothes shopping at this point.

Milestones:  My midwife is coming to me tomorrow, which takes our relationship to a whole new level.  Also, I am at another 4 week marker – 4/5 of the way to 40 weeks!

Best moment this week:  This will sound lame to most, but I am pre-nesting, so please understand.  I have had “put bed on risers so that I can store clothes underneath” on my to-do list for two months and it got done on Tuesday.  That felt awesome.  Also, I had a friend unexpectedly show up while I was starting in on evicting dust mites (a task I thought would take 2.5 hours) and she devoted her day to helping me.  The part of the house we cleaned looked amazing.

I am stressing over:  How to parent a two-year-old and various other highly stressful things.

Movement: I feel like I’m in one of those alien movies where the alien is trying to get out.  I seriously can’t figure out which end of baby is up.

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  I am back to my regular cardio routine, which means an hour elliptical on weekdays and an hour on the bike on the weekends.  I have lost interest in New Rules for now, partly because level 5 was a lot of repetition and partly because I can’t do some of the exercises where you have to be on your stomach.  I have started doing the 30 Day Shred DVD again, just so I keep doing some ab work and arm stuff.  I am trying to do it 30 days straight, but after doing it two days in a row I cleaned the house for 7-8 hours yesterday and skipped it.  Back on track today though!

Diet: Pretty good, but Isaac keeps eating the eggs off my plate.  The way our family can go through a dozen eggs makes me contemplate the benefits of chicken farming.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  30 Day Shred all 7 days!  And try to find more books to keep me interested in my cross training.  Now that the weather is cool and lovely I am really really missing running.

Belly Shot: 

Responses

  1. Parenting a 2yo is hard, definitely. But oh, you can look forward to parenting the almost-3yo! They get super-helpful (well, they WANT to help, anyway!) and say and do the sweetest things. I think it is my favorite age thus far. Be encouraged…it isn’t THAT far away for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

