Posted by: Ingrid | September 7, 2011

Bumpdate: 34 Weeks

Due Date: October 19, 2011 –  We are just about to dip down under 40 days.  Crazy!

Weight Gain:  Still 20-21 pounds up depending on the day.  I just recently realized that I’ve always thought I gained 22 pounds with Isaac, when in truth, we packed up our scale and other worldly goods and moved into some else’s house about 6 weeks from my due date and I used their scale after that.  I remember being slightly surprised when I stepped on their scale the first time, so maybe, in truth, I actually hit the “sanctioned” 25 pounds than I thought.  Maybe not, but being able to think that makes me feel better.

Symptoms:  Inability to see my toes and difficulty putting socks and shoes on while navigating around the belly.  Other than some random sore sections of my back (probably due more to Isaac wanting “up” than the baby) things are good.

What’s different this time:  My “list of things I need for baby” is much shorter and inevitably more practical this time around.

Cravings/Aversions:  Berries, peaches, blue cheese, and most salty stuff are still on the “must have” list.  Frosty Boy, home of the Extreme Reeces flurry, has peanut butter as the flavor of the week and we haven’t gone yet.  Maybe if husband is craving it we will.

Sleep:  Things have finally (please?) made a turn for the better.  Isaac has been going down easier and quicker and has at least adjusted to us waiting to get him up until 7:00 am.  I have been getting more sleep than I’ve gotten in a long time, partly because we have adjusted to an earlier bedtime, so that when Isaac wakes up initially at 5:40, I have still managed to get in about 8 hours of sleep.  Sleep is such a beautiful, beautiful thing.

I am loving: That I have already begun packing up summer maternity clothes.  That I have 15 meals prepped in the freezer.  That I get to wear clothes from my last pregnancy that were not seasonal at the point when I could have worn them.  That my birth kit arrived and is in the library.

I miss: My pre-baby metabolism.  I firmly believe that my body likes to spend pregnancy in a metabolically compromised state.  I guess as long as I can make up for it later, I will be okay.

Are you nesting?  Oh yes.  Freezer meals, menu planning, chore planning, and attempting to get some deep cleaning done.

Milestones:  Well, Fit Pregnancy announced today that: The volume of your uterus is five hundred to one thousand times larger than before you got pregnant, so it’s safe to say you’re feeling huge and slow.  With milestones like this to look forward to, who doesn’t want to get pregnant?  34 weeks is just not a big milestone week.

Best moment this week:  Hanging out with new friends definitely tops the list, as well as committing to some decisions that I have been needing to make for a while.  But seriously, having the temperatures in the high 50’s to low 70’s is way up there on the awesome scale.

I am stressing over:  Aside from the logistics of trying to get certain areas clean with a toddler around, I am not feeling particularly stressed right now.

Movement:  Baby 2 really likes that particular move where he presses limbs against opposite sides of my belly at the same time.

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  Daily cross-training, some weights when I think about it, and a 2 mile run Monday.

Diet: Good, for the most part.  Now that it’s cooler though, it’s hard to remember to drink the liquids I need.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  I guess my basic goal is to keep doing my hour of cardio, even when bored.  I am would like to try to run a mile or two every few days as long as the groin pain is kept at bay.  I know I said I was done running, but it’s so hard to really stop, especially when I’m feeling better.  I should go on more walks at least.  And do yoga.  And weights.  I have been trying to go longer on the elliptical and bike when I get the time and have tried intervals once in a while.  I guess as long as I get in my hour I’m doing okay.  I just wish it involved effortlessly running the country roads nearby.

Belly Shot:

Leave a Reply

Categories

