Posted by: Ingrid | October 19, 2011

Bumpdate: Week 40A

Due Date: October 19 or 23, 2011, but feels like forever from now.  Anything from zero to eighteen days to go.

Weight Gain:  Too much.

Symptoms: Random groin pain.  Decided irritability.  Heightened desire to send active toddler to camp for two weeks.  Feeling enormous.

What’s different this time:  Definitely worse pregnancy body image, possibly due to not running and possibly because of a few additional pounds.  I also did not realize how hard it would be to concentrate on a toddler at the end of pregnancy.  I am having a hard time keep my mind on the child in front of me because I just want the baby inside to get out.  This time around I am not writing thank you cards for shower gifts like a crazy woman, which was my project at this point last pregnancy.

Cravings/Aversions:  Nothing in particular, just a very very strong aversion to continuing to be pregnant and people who got to have their babies early.

Sleep:  Overall, pretty good.  I will be sad to not be able to mostly sleep through the night anymore.

I am loving:  That the weather is cooler and that Clint and I got a date last night.  Not only did we discover an absolute fantastic Mexican restaurant, but we finally got to review the stages of labor.  Check that one off the list… now Baby Boy can really come.

Things from the Bradley Workbook that my husband is absolutely not allowed to say:  

-Welcome the power of the contraction.

-This contraction is an opportunity to progress.

-The stronger the contraction the sooner the birth (I was in labor for 46 hours… this is a LIE)

-This contraction is a gift to our baby.

I miss: My running.  My body.  My normal clothes.  Zippers and buttons on pants.  Being able to reach my toes.

Induction methods that I am willing to entertain at this point:  Drinking raspberry leaf tea, primrose oil, jumping jacks, jumping on a friend’s trampoline, walking when I don’t have groin pain, complaining extensively to husband, eating spicy food, and fiddling with various pressure points.

Are you nesting?  Sort of.  I feel like I have done most of the projects I wanted to do and now am entering tired-I-don’t-care land.

Milestones:  I hear that 40 weeks is a pretty big milestone in pregnancy land.  Though I am really only 39 weeks 3 days.  So maybe my really big milestone is that I have accepted the 23rd as my “for real” due date.

Best moment this weeks: Getting together with friends, throwing leaves at Isaac, and doing the prayer of discernment with my husband.

I am stressing over:  The fact that someone mentioned the other day that they love seeing me “waddling after Isaac.”  Still being pregnant.  How Isaac will feel about the new baby.  How my body feels.  If I will lose the baby weight easily.  The whole prospect of going into labor.  If I will know when to call the midwife.  If I will really know that labor is starting.  If I will ever get sleep once the baby comes.

Movement:  For having limited space, he sure manages to make his presence felt!

It’s a:  Boy.

Exercise:  60-75 minutes on the elliptical or bike daily, 30 Day Shred, and some short walks while covertly eyeing all of the people who run by and envying them.

Diet: Good on most days.  Bad on days when I feel large and like I will be pregnant forever.  Can I just say that I am so disappointed that this is not the week Frosty King is doing pumpkin soft serve?

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Keep showing up at the gym and try not to go crazy.

Belly Shot:

Responses

  1. Awkward, I was about to comment that you should welcome the power of the contraction. Haha.

    SOON! Very soon! Will be thinking of you 🙂

  2. You are adorable.


Leave a Reply

Categories

