Posted by: Ingrid | October 24, 2011

Welcome to my Due Date

I really was hoping that something might happen last night and nothing did.  Other than the fact that Clint and I scored a date because my Dad happened to show up earlier than planned and we got to take off for Ann Arbor while Grandpa and Isaac bonded over chicken nuggets.  Can I just say that it is so nice right now to have my son more interested in running with Grandpa than with me?

And no, just in case you were tempted to ask, NOTHING new or different or exciting or anything that indicates giving birth has happened.  At all.  But you can bet I have never prayed so hard for painful contractions to start and continue.

Reaching my due date is causing me to consider types of natural labor inducing remedies that I have never before considered.  Namely, castor oil and trying to find a place that does pedicures where they massage that pressure point on your ankle that is supposed to help induce labor.  The thing is, after a not so great pedicure before my wedding, I am really loathe, even five years later, to shell out whatever pedicures cost and and hour of my time.  Castor oil would run me, what, maybe $5 and possibly a few wasted hours.  I am, by nature, rather frugal, so I may have to think about this one for a day or two.

It was definitely more fun reaching my due date last time.  Fireworks!  Disneyland!  Harry Potter!  This time… not so fun.  So far on the agenda has been church, cleaning the house, 70 minutes on the stationary bike, a toddler who didn’t nap long enough, a three mile walk, and a quick jump on the trampoline.

I also found out that two of the three women who were supposed to have babies have had them.  Granted, their due dates were over a week ago, but still.  All in all, I am finding that I am not feeling very rational and, in general, want to cry at the drop of a hat.  Actually, you don’t even have to drop the hat to get me to cry.  Just the knowledge that I am doing anything with a baby still inside of me is enough.

So, enough with the “woe is me”.  My Dad took some pictures last night of our current family of three… for now… and I will try to enjoy life as it is.

 

Responses

  1. Aw, sorry to hear you are struggling these last few days. It’s not fun at the bitter end. Soon, soon!

  2. Hey, sorry to hear you are waiting uncomfortably. Last pregnancy I tried drinking litres of raspberry leaf tea. I drank it from 36 weeks as recommended ( only a few cups) and then upped the ante at around 38 weeks ( I figured that was an ok time to go into labour as opposed to earlier). I had my baby at 39 weeks. My contractions were extremely strong and the labour was over in an hour and a half! Would I drink the tea again? Absolutely, but I will ask my midwife to help me slow the labour through different positions. All that gravity from standing up!
    Oh and I also took some midwife prescribed black cohosh, a couple of drops. what did the trick? no idea. but was super happy to be holding my baby 🙂

  3. Oh, Honey – I am praying for & with you! You WON’T be pregnant forever. I promise!


Leave a Reply

Categories

