Posted by: Ingrid | January 26, 2012

{January: You Pick Two}

Since it’s January and I am just starting in on changing how I cook, what I buy, and what we eat, it is hard not to pick twenty things that I’m going to change right now.  But I know that if I ease into it the changes will stick and I will be able to keep track of what I am doing better.

{Change 1}  Goodbye Jif

I will admit that despite being raised on the good stuff (or perhaps because of it) I have a fondness that borders on addiction to processed peanut butter.  I can eat the stuff on anything and have no qualms about eating it out of the jar just as one would eat yogurt.  Except yogurt does not pack a 100 calorie punch per bite.  Growing up we had natural peanut butter, almond butter, and cashew butter around the house.  It didn’t have salt, it certainly wasn’t processed with hydrogenated whatever, and sometimes we ground it up ourselves at the health food store.  I guess I am returning to my roots, only I cannot stand no-salt peanut butter, so whatever I buy has to have two ingredients.

Otherwise I have to salt my sandwiches, which just looks weird.  When I first considered swapping peanut butter my concern (of course) was for Isaac.  The kid needs calories!  What if he won’t eat natural stuff!  He will starve!  But then I realized that I was really just thinking about myself.  I like having my processed peanut butter available and I know for a fact that I am less likely to want to eat the natural stuff by the spoonful, partly because it doesn’t taste the same and partly because of the price!

{Change 2}  Hello organic eggs

This was pretty much a no-brainer opportunity that fell into our lap.  Some friends have been buying eggs from a woman who raises free-range chickens and we can get two dozen brown eggs a week for less than the non-sale price of regular eggs in the store.  Almost as good as having my own chickens but without the work!

So that’s January for you, two sustainable steps that we are making to eat healthier while still staying on a budget.  I would love to hear about any changes or suggestions anyone may have, including book suggestions that don’t get all weird on me with foods that decrease yin or yang or suggest that I start raising a pig and plant an orchard in the parking lot. 😛

Responses

  1. So jealous that you have an egg lady. I would love to get my eggs from someone local. My parents have someone in Indiana, the eggs from that family just taste better.
    Not sure if you have a food processor (or the inclination), but if you do making peanut butter at home is really easy. I started making my own, because finding the natural stuff in stores in Amsterdam is difficult. I used to love Skippy, but after a few years of making my own nut butters, the taste doesn’t appeal to me anymore.
    And because I love his philosophy so, I will recommend Pollan’s book In Defense of Food (or the Omnivore’s Dilemma). I think I might talk about him too much, but he advocates eating well, but he doesn’t think it’s realistic for everyone to eat organic/local/whole all the time.

  2. I have read a LOT of books on nutrition and health food, but the one I thought was best is Real Food: What to Eat and Why by Nina Planck.

    We should talk sometime – I’ve been real/whole/healthy foods for a long time now and might be able to help you get going.

    • Em, let’s talk! I’ve been meaning to call you sometime to just see how you all are doing and I’d love to hear your thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

