Posted by: Ingrid | February 1, 2012

January Reading

I always loved reading contests as a kid.  In first grade there were the Book it! personal pan pizzas that I won for reading a certain number of books each month.  Then, in second grade, after moving from South Dakota to California and switching grades mid-year, there were the stars that we earned at school for reading books.  Having exchanged my live friends and winter weather for palm trees and new everything I made friends with books and my line of stars marched off the chart and around the corner of the classroom.

I still love reading and I still love keeping track of what I read.  When the librarian at our town library mentioned that they were doing a reading “contest” this year (in quotations because it isn’t really a contest – you pick a number of books that you hope to read and then try to match it) I was in.  I am aiming for 150 books and am curious to see just how much I actually read now that I have two children.  So far I have been surprised!

Generally I wander around the library and pick things that look interesting and then take them home to find out if they actually are.  I am all about judging a book by its cover when it comes to choosing my books.  January was an odd month though, since I tend to predominantly read fiction.  This might be the first month in a long time that there were more non-fiction books (and even a biography!) that got read.

State of Wonder – Ann Patchett

Sweet Love – Sarah Strohmeyer

The Cinderella Pact – Sarah Strohmeyer

Didn’t I feed you yesterday? – Laura Bennett

Operating Instructions – Anne Lamott

Summerhill Secrets – Beverly Lewis

Beginner’s Guide to Natural Living – Larry Cook

Growing up Green – Deirdre Imus

A Slice of Organic Life – Edited by Sheherazade Goldsmith

Julie & Julia – Julie Powell

The Cheapskate Next Door – Jeff Yeager

Enchantment: The Life of Audrey Hepburn – Donald Spoto

And now, while a little nap time still remains, I need to return to my newest read, Real Food.  Which is making me gag whenever I pull our milk out of the fridge because now I know what happens when milk is homogenized…

Responses

  1. Any of those you recommend?


Leave a Reply

Categories

