Posted by: Ingrid | February 10, 2012

Two and a half years

I am amazed at the fact that it takes about four years to earn a college degree but only two and a half years to go from this:

to this:

I have a toddler who (and this scares me) could potentially carry with him memories of life right now.  I have a toddler who is adept at mimicking both my words and my tone.  I have a toddler who often speaks in sentences, even if sometimes it sounds like: Mommy, please give me a sippy cup of wawa.  I also have a toddler who should not utter the word “fork” in polite company for quite some time.

He is capricious and emotional in turns.  He is smiling and happy and then tearful and flailing.  He can scream like crazy when he’s mad and he knows that when he’s out in public it is a more opportune time to flail bigger and scream louder.  Dukahs (trucks) are a thing of the past, but he still makes me laugh when he gets excited about bulldozers.  It’s… a big… budda-budda, mommy!

He can follow me around the house without mercy but he can also play with his train table for long periods of time, talking for the engines and bashing them into one another.  He is thrilled with the idea of seeing friends but tends to lose it when it comes to the actual give and take and sharing that friendship requires.

He can sometimes count to twelve, sings bits of the A,B,C’s, Twinkle Twinkle, Jesus Loves Me, and a handful of Veggie Tales songs and he loves being read to.  He would watch Thomas the Train and Bob the Builder for a long long time if allowed, moderation not being one of those things toddlers are known for.

He mostly sleeps 11 to 12 hours a night with a 1.5 to 2 hour nap but is totally on the go the rest of the time.  He has very little interest in potty training and I have very little interest in potty training him except for the fact that I could deal with no longer having to change his diapers.

He is starting to understand who he is, which I think is just crazy.  It also makes for some interesting conversations, such as the one he had with Clint the other day.

Clint:  Isaac, you are awesome.  You know that?  You are just awesome!

Isaac:  I NOT awesome.  I, Isaac!

And I will add that at two and a half I cannot get a decent picture of the kid because he is either moving so much or laying on top of his brother.  I am amazed at how much kids can do and say and learn at this age.  I don’t even know why the two and a half mark is hitting me so much.  He’s just changing into such a little boy, right in front of me and it’s just the craziest thing to watch.

Responses

  1. I love watching him grow up with you!

  2. I love the language. Quinn has said “fork” and “percy” in public and I find myself quickly saying something like, “oh, you want PERCY or here is your FORK”. Oh the laughter…

    • Yes! Percy is definitely another one of those words. I can’t believe the number of times I have been in the kitchen and heard Isaac say a sentence that is incomprehensible except for the word “fork” at the end.


Leave a Reply

Categories

