Posted by: Ingrid | March 27, 2012

{March: You Pick Two}

Apparently I am still having trouble counting, because we have, again, made more than two changes this month.  I have a feeling that at some point I am going to hit a wall due to financial issues (no grassfed beef for us this year), but until then we are moving forward in our quest to eat better and more naturally.

I know that the “dirty dozen” exists, and we are trying to buy more organic produce, but honestly, if it’s not on sale I really can’t justify buying it right now.  It’s the difference between eating more fruits and veggies that are not organic or rationing out a meager selection of organic produce.  I guess we are going with mostly non-organic produce except when the organic is the same price (or close to the same price) as regular stuff.  We are planting a garden this summer for sure!

Husband and Isaac are still loving the homemade eggnog.  Very easy and a nice coffee creamer in the mornings!

So far I have made two types of granola bars.  Clint and I like them both while Isaac refuses to eat either of them.  He also dislikes Kashi bars and Lara bars.  I have not purchased any Nutri Grain bars though, so he can learn to like what I make if he wants granola bars for snack!

Tried my hand at making hummus, which turned out okay.  That’s probably something only I would eat though.

I made several batches of lower sugar freezer jam, since Isaac is a jam fiend.  We have been using it on pancakes and in plain yogurt and I like the fact that it’s just berries, sugar, and pectin.

The best discovery this month has been the Amish Store up the road.  Exceptional place to buy flour, grains, spices, and lard.  Okay, I haven’t actually purchased lard and don’t really have a use for it, but the store is really interesting.  Such a good price on spices, maple syrup, and baking supplies!

I am still struggling on the bread front.  I have tried several different recipes and have not ended up with anything yet that resembles good sandwich bread.  I have some suggestions to try but it’s not like I can try a new type of bread every other day!  Right now it feels like a lot of work for disappointing results, at least in appearance.  I am proud of myself for sticking it out though.  I haven’t purchased bread in three months!

Up next: Will I actually figure out what to do with the sucanat that I purchased on a whim?  Stay tuned! 🙂

Responses

  1. You can do it Ingrid! I only use Sucant it is amazing. As a matter of fact my never fail bread recipe uses it too…let me know if you want it!

    • I would love it, Amie!

  2. Hey Ingrid! I am not sure what you are looking for in a granola bar recipe (besides one that Isaac will eat), but I may have some options for you. We do things like whole grain pumpkin bars and other bars that are more cakey. Maybe he would like that!

    One idea for the jam would be to just puree strawberries with a bit of raw honey to taste. Use this on pancakes. WAY less sugar! We also use berries and a bit of maple syrup to sweeten plain yogurt. Does Isaac like yogurt?

    Bread. That is indeed a tough one! One thing we have found with breads that aren’t as good of sandwich breads. They are great grilled. Years ago, we went to a lot more grilled sandwiches. Just make a grilled cheese, but use meat and veggies too. You can even eliminate the cheese!

    We LOVE hummus! So don’t quit trying on that one!! Try some better store brands, then try to mimic those. Homemade has become my favorite though!

    I always buy organic lettuce. I just don’t even pay attention to the cost of conventional. Either romaine or the boxes are usually on sale so it works out ffine. Maybe you could find one or two veggies and fruit that you commit to buying orgnanically. I usually do this with apples too. They taste better too!

    Joshua just did a research paper on industrialized farming. He read Omnivore’s Dilemma and watched Food Inc. I have read part of Omnivore’s Dilemma. You should read the section on Polyface Farm. He also had a book called Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Kingsolver. She is a wonderful author. They went back home and lived off the land and locally. They have some amazing recipes in the book! AND it’s a super read for any book junkie!

    I’m on a search for local, organic food. Haven’t done too well with my search these last few years since being here so I am trying to do better. I miss our grassfed beef from the other side of the state. (And, by the way, it is one of those things that really is worth the cost. Use half as much and it won’t cost you any more!)

    OK! You are probably tired of all my suggestions! :O) I’ve thought of you. Wondered what you ever decided about the house. You don’t have to share. Just wanted you to know!

    • Thank you, Ruth! Great suggestions! I will give the strawberry puree a try next time the berries go on sale. I totally agree with you on organic lettuce – I always buy that now since it is a comparable price. I would LOVE a recipe for pumpkin bars – I am a sucker for anything pumpkin!

      I recently read a couple of books by Michael Pollan and thought they were very interesting – good for Joshua researching that!

  3. Ingrid I cut this recipe in half and use coconut oil for the oil and sometimes substitute sucanant for the honey in the dough softener. I make my own dough softener as well. It turns out perfect every time!

    Amie

    PS I am a big fan of the benefits of soaking your grains but I know it takes a bit more foresight

    http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/01/kitchen-tip-tuesday-homemade-bread.html

  4. Wow! Really impressed at all the changes you are making in the face of life with two kids. I…uh…undid some of my positive changes in the same position 🙂

    • I would have done the exact same thing if I had been waging an ongoing and exhausting war on thrush along with the craziness of two kids!

  5. This just came up on my computer. I think because another friend did a blog through WordPress. I don’t ever remember seeing your response. I am sure you have forgotten, but my apologies. Anything you need ideas currently, over 3 years later, for? :O) I have been looking at a lot of different things, for myself and some friends, in recent months.


Leave a Reply

Categories

