Posted by: Ingrid | April 23, 2012

A word of advice

Do not sign up for the stomach flu a week from a half marathon.  Not even the 24 hour type, just in case you were considering it.

There.  Isn’t that handy advice?  I just wish I’d followed it!  Saturday I finished my last long run.  That afternoon I felt sort of sick.  That was followed by 7 hours of stomach flu, which then was followed by thirty hours during which I felt I could not do a thing.  I even slept the entire nap time away yesterday!  Unfortunately, I had a tempo run on the schedule for today, an easy run tomorrow, and then 400 meter repeats on Wednesday.  So fueled by yesterday’s measly selection of juice and cereal and graham crackers, I went out to do my 3 mile tempo run that I hoped to do at a 7:20 pace.  I hit 6:59, 7:10, and 7:01, but I felt depleted and exhausted the entire time.

I am still looking askance at most foods, which is unfortunate, since with my run coming up on Saturday I was hoping to feel stronger and better prepared.  I guess this is the wild card I will have to deal with.  Hopefully it won’t mess me up too badly for the race.

Wait!  This was supposed to be a fun baseline race, right?

So much for that goal.

As I ran Saturday’s 10 miler, I thought through the next week and all the things that change when I have a run coming up.  When I lay it out, I have a whole list of rules that get me through the final week.

I can only run Monday through Wednesday.

I can cross train Thursday.

I may not do any activity Friday.

I must conscientiously eat maintenance calories from Tuesday on.

The last two days I will keep track of the water I drink to be sure I get enough.

I will add more carbs to my diet.

I will probably drink Gatorade on Friday and eat more calories than I theoretically burn.

I will avoid all shoes with any type of high heel.

I will worry all Thursday and Friday that some area of my leg hurts.

I will go to bed wondering if everything will come together so that the run will be great or if it will just be okay.

I will keep telling myself that “it’s just a really long tempo run”.

I will mentally break up the run; should it be three 4 milers plus 1.1 miles?  Four 3 milers plus 1.1?  A 6 miler and a 7 miler with 0.1 at the end?

I will religiously check the weather, just in case I need to plan for something new.

Currently weather.com is calling for isolated thunderstorms. 😦

I don’t know if you can be a runner without having all of the rules and “superstitions” that will make race day go well.  Maybe it’s part of the fun.  In the meantime, I am off to drink more juice and feel better!

Leave a Reply

Categories

