Posted by: Ingrid | April 25, 2012

Now I know my ABC’s

Today was my last speed workout at the track, and let me tell you, after all the 800 meter, 1K and 1200 meter repeats I have run, doing six 400 meter repeats felt like flying.  Except somewhere in there I forgot that I was training for a half marathon and ran them in 1:31, 1:30, 1:37, 1:32, 1:29, and 1:27, which is very good for me.  Even better than running the last repeat at a 5:48 pace (!?!) was the fact that it felt appropriately intense (but not too hard) for speedwork and afterwards nothing hurt.  I am running fast without pain and that makes me very happy.

So now, three days out from the half marathon, I am setting my ABC goals.

A+ Goal: 1:31-1:33 – This will happen if I get enough sleep, if all of the best parts of my training align with the mental part of the run and I feel great on race day.

A Goal: 1:33.01-1:34.59 – I’ve trained for a 1:35 half marathon, so this would be a very good run with a few seconds shaved off due to adrenalin.

B Goal:  1:35-1:36.49 – This would still make it a personal best for me.

C Goal: 1:36.50-1:39.59 – This was all I was hoping for when I first started training.

D Goal:  We will let this refer to Done.  As in, I have done a recent half marathon and now have a baseline time on which to improve.

I am excited about the run.  I have heard really good things about the course and the race.  Plus I will get to see my aunt, uncle, and cousins while there, which is the whole reason I wanted to run this race in the first place!  There are pace groups (marathon and half marathon run together) for a 1:32 and 1:37 finish.  I am trying to be realistic and weigh all of my handicaps to date; the erratic training, the stomach flu, never knowing if I will get enough sleep with a toddler and baby in the house, and the fact that while I am below my pregnancy weight by a few pounds and am a happy healthy weight for a normal person,  I am 10-15 pounds heavier than the average fast female runner.  But maybe I will start a trend in which normal sized women with small children run fast too.  Stranger things have happened, I’m sure. 😛

So there are handicaps for sure, but I’ve had some good training too.  Guess I will see on race day how things pan out!

Responses

  1. just wanted to wish you good luck before your half! I always get sick before the race! In fact, before my half in October. I swore I thought I was pregnant I was so nauseous/tired the Wednesday before the race. Regardless of what time you get, it always help to have a race to help gauge your fitness and get you back into the racing game!

  2. Have fun Ingrid! And good luck, but I know you’ll do great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

