Posted by: Ingrid | May 31, 2012

May Reading

Despite the fact that I have a stack of twenty-five library books at home that I keep renewing, May was not a good reading month.

Lone Wolf – Jodi Picoult  This definitely felt a bit more tame and less jarring than most of the other Picoult books that I’ve read.  Maybe because it dealt with end of life issues for an adult rather than traumatic things happening to a child.  Also, I know more about wolves now than I did before.

The Guinea Pig Diaries – A.J. Jacobs  This was a sampling of Jacob’s various projects.  It was fun, although I enjoyed his Year of Living Biblically more.

Crossing Over – I had to google this book because I couldn’t remember what it was about!  Yes, that good.  It tells the story of a young woman who leaves the Amish community.  It is not particularly well written, rather vapid, and you just sort of feel sorry for the woman on the whole.

Biggest Loser: 6 Weeks to a Healthier You –  I can’t say that I learned anything new from this book.  Very basic.

Treason – Orson Scott Card  Interesting book, though it took me a while to get into it.

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins  This was a re-read for me.  This time I read it out loud to my husband.  It is so much fun knowing what’s going to happen and then leaving him hanging at suspense filled moments!

7: An Experimental Mutiny against Excess – Jen Hatmaker  Perhaps the best book I read this month.  Hopefully I will have time to blog more about it later.  It is definitely the type of book that messes with you and makes you re-think how you live your life.  Very good!

Same Kind of Different as Me – Ron Hall and Denver Moore  An unlikely tale of a friendship between a modern day slave turned homeless man and a millionaire.  Another book that took a while for me to get into, but one I definitely enjoyed!

Only eight books in May and only three of them fiction!  Lame!  Must try harder in June and get the stack of books on my shelf read before the library comes knocking at my door. 🙂

Responses

  1. I knew you enjoyed “torturing” me by leaving me hanging at crucial moments in the Hunger Games series…I’ll get you back…I want to read some philosophy books to you and just as someone is almost done making their argument (and you are at the edge of your seat waiting for the conclusion), I will put the book down…but I’m suspicious you might be asleep by then.

    Love you!

    • That is a good idea! Can you schedule your reading time at 10:00 tonight?


Leave a Reply

Categories

